Energy Texas Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Energy Texas so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Energy Texas Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Energy Texas's Customer Reviews Summary

Energy Texas Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Energy Texas

4.3 / 5

Energy Texas Reviews

Reviews for Energy Texas

total reviews

Want to order Energy Texas?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Energy Texas?

Is Energy Texas good?

Energy Texas is generally rated with an average user review of 3.6/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 15.40¢/kWh!

Is Energy Texas expensive?

Energy Texas has energy plans starting as low as 14.00¢/kWh with their 36 Inflation Fix. The average Energy Texas plan rate is 19.62¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 11.41¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:

Energy Texas vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Energy Texas:

TXU Energy Texas
Plan Count 6 5
Average Rate 22.52¢/kWh 18.22¢/kWh
Average MRC $3.32 $4.95
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 19.50¢/kWh.
Come & Take It 12
from 18.50¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 20.50¢/kWh.
Bigger Than Texas 24
from 17.60¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 5

Energy Texas vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Energy Texas:

Reliant Energy Texas
Plan Count 2 5
Average Rate 26.50¢/kWh 18.22¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $4.95
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
from 26.10¢/kWh.
Come & Take It 12
from 18.50¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan - Bigger Than Texas 24
from 17.60¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 5

Does Energy Texas take reviews seriously?

Energy Texas has an average user review of 3.6 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 94% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Energy Texas?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Energy Texas customer review communities around. With 19 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Energy Texas customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Energy Texas Customer Reviews Page.

Recent Good Review from Jared Simmons

Overall Rating
Texas Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So far our bill has been lower than what we were paying. It is nice to be able to budget our bill with our plan.

Megan Clark from Red Oak, TX on May 24th, 2022
Overall Rating
Cheap rates, amazing service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was searching for energy plans, came across Energy Texas, they not only offered affordable plan but also first month was free plus there are other bill credits.

Noman from Plano, TX on May 24th, 2022
Overall Rating
Happy we moved over to Energy Texas!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Easy to sign up, simplified account management, understandable billing.

JC from Sugar Land, TX on May 23rd, 2022
Overall Rating
Quick, simple, and fast
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Energy Texas is fast, and simple to sign up. Immediate response. Easy to pay. Website is exceptional. Easy to find whatever you need to know. Rates are now good.

Richard Wall from Harker Heights, TX on May 21st, 2022
Overall Rating
Finally an Energy Company with Great Prices and No Gimmicks
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Energy Texas is easy to work with. They have straight forward pricing and great rates. They DO NOT have ridiculous terms that require a minimum usage to get the great rate. They even give you a discount if you reduce your usage during high demand. The gravy on top is that it all of the energy is from renewable sources.

Wayne from Houston, TX on April 23rd, 2022
Overall Rating
Best Change Ever!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have bounced around electric companies for years. Never been happy till now. After one free month because I signed up for paperless billing, I finally received a bill. Half the amount I was expecting. I am so happy with this company.

John A. from Dallas, TX on April 18th, 2022
Overall Rating
Feedback
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Great customers service and professionalism

Clement from Dallas, TX on March 28th, 2022
Overall Rating
Home owner
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Good services

Jessica from Missouri City, TX on February 8th, 2022
Overall Rating
Really affordable
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They have the lowest priced plan, and on top of that, their customer service is excellent. I feel right at home with them.

Daenna from Harlingen, TX on February 3rd, 2022
Overall Rating
Friendly service over the phone
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The phone service is exceptional in helping solve problems and inquiries into account status and switching at last second to a different unit number for the same rate you originally shopped for.

J from Houston, TX on February 2nd, 2022
Overall Rating
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jared Simmons from Kenedy, TX on May 28th, 2022
Overall Rating
So Far So Good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Customer service hours not compatible with other service providers. Wasn't told in advance of the good promo I was to receive.

Linda D. from Grand Prairie, TX on May 5th, 2022
Overall Rating
Newcomer to Texas energy finds the best plan
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I did not know what I was looking for only that I needed electricity. It did not take long to find rates, conditions, and information on green suppliers on the Texas Electricity Ratings website. After reading about all of providers in my area I made a decision and so far I am pleased with my provider.

Ray James from Abilene, TX on April 18th, 2022
Overall Rating
So far!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So far its been a great experience, excellent price per kilowatt and very low bills!! Just what we was looking for. I only gave customer service 4 stars because we havent had any contact with them.

William from Aransas Pass, TX on March 20th, 2022
Overall Rating
Great Experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was able to establish service & all online. When I had a question, customer service was able to help in one call. This has been the BEST experience with an electric company I have ever had!!

Melissa from San Antonio, TX on February 27th, 2022
Overall Rating
Great price but costumer service need to improve
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very trust price and rates , but costumer care need to improve. When i call the costumer care , i felt the tape record looks like a scam . Web site online account doesn't work well. i tried many time to reset password but i couldn't receive a link to reset it. I hope they will fix them asap.. i give 5 star to their fair price. the others looks cheap but you will never pay that rate..

Erkan from Sachse, TX on January 24th, 2022
Thanks for the review! We want to serve our fellow Texans with fair, no bull pricing. We are always working to improve our customers' experience both online and offline. We appreciate the feedback and will reach out to you for more details about your experience.
— Energy Texas
Overall Rating
Steve
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First bill wasn't recieved in time to pay on time ,haven't got second bill yet

Steve from Irving, TX on May 6th, 2022
Overall Rating
Book Keeping
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disconnect notice on bill paid early..thought it crossed in mail but website the day before showed pd then We get another disconnect notice for March 22.....all paid by bank check online..

Robert A Burgess from Tomball, TX on March 22nd, 2022

Compare Energy Texas to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
36 Inflation Fix
14.0¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
The Gruene 18
20.4¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Bigger Than Texas 24
18.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Come & Take It 12
21.5¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Energy Texas Monthly
23.7¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Variable Rate Renewable
Check Availability
Maxx Saver Select 24
13.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Maxx Saver Select 12
15.3¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Tiered Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
One Rate 12
20.9¢
$4.95 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability