Reviews for Green Mountain Energy

The best review categories for Green Mountain Energy are their customer service, with an average of 1.8 stars, and the order experience, with an average of 1.7 stars.


Recent Good Review from DDavis

No more Solar plans from a Green Company??
We put 1.75 MHZ into the grid this month and pulled ~1,100 KW and we got a bill for 90$ - how does that math work? I called Green Mountain to check and see if it was just an error but was informed that the plan we were on no longer exists (they did not contact me) and they ONLY have a month-to-month plan available now AND that is it - meaning the price can/will vary as Green Mountain deems necessary. Adding to this, what happen to the ~600 KW+ our panels put on the grid?? I was told by Green Mountain that the energy amount added to the grid by our panels was less than we burned as reported by Oncor. Sorry - I was born at night, but not last night. I have moved to Rhythm Ops, LLC and recommend all Solar panels owners using Green Mountain consider the same or plan on the month-to-month reality.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DDavis from Irving, TX on August 30th, 2021


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

23 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Thank You Green Mountain
During the winter storm here in Texas I was so nervous that my bill would go through the roof.
I was one of the lucky ones who did not lose power. I'm a senior and was very very concerned that I would experience price gouging. I did not and I can't tell you how proud I am to be a Green Mountain Energy customer because if it. As we know, other electric companies did try to price gouge.....So sad and so wrong during a time of great devestation....
My complete and sincere gratitude and compliments to Green Mountain Energy for their
honesty and obvious care and concern for their valued customers...
Thanks again and job well done
Green Mountain.
I will continue to recommend your services to family,friends and others...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ms Sherry from Mckinney, TX on March 19th, 2021
Very Happy with Green Mountain Energy
I normally never, ever take the time to write reviews but after seeing so many bad ones, I felt compelled to share my experience with Green Mountain Energy. I have been a completely happy customer with them, and their customer service is beyond great. No hidden fees, prices are exactly what we agreed to. I highly recommend this company. Also, during the Texas freeze this year, we NEVER lost power save for the couple hours in the middle of the night due to mandatory rolling blackout.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Happy Customer from Spring, TX on March 13th, 2021
Wonderful company
I have had Green Mountain for years no complaints from me. Great service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Robin Smith from Fort Worth, TX on October 31st, 2019
Long-Time Customer
I don't understand this rating, my experience with Green Mtn has been fantastic! I have used them for many year & have been very happy. I would highly recomend you give them a try because sometime review are just not correct. Thanks, Rickey Allen
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rickey Allen from Fort Worth, TX on May 17th, 2018
Good service
Good service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph from Austin, TX on May 3rd, 2018
The best Texas energy provider. Period.
I've been their customer for the best part of 4 years now.
I have also created a spreadsheet to compare electricity plans and crunched the numbers on dozens of plans.
When you do that, you get a feel for which companies are trying to price gouge and which ones are trying to provide good service affordably.

Green Mountain Energy stands out kindof on its own:
Cheapest plans out there, bar none. My bill in August was $36 for 474 kwh
Fair fixed plans
Easy to use website / billing / charts
Weekly email updates on energy usage
Friendly competent customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dallas Customer from Dallas, TX on October 17th, 2017
Short Experience
I switched to Green Mountain to get a better price on electricity rates; unfortunately, my stay with them was short. My original provider called and gave me a deal for the next 12 months. I may still go back to Green Mountain next year. They have good rates and they use renewable energy which appeals to me.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Not Bucky Barnes from Alamo, TX on September 24th, 2017
Ramzi Baransi
Was very pleased
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ramzi Baransi from Plano, TX on June 21st, 2017
Excellent Service and A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected
Excellent Service and A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Excellent Service And A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected from Houston, TX on February 27th, 2017
No Issues at all, very helpful!
I've had Green Mountain for 14 months and I can honestly say, they were great, my bill was never above $20 a month and I ran electricity all day and night. I live in an 1100sqft house and my bill stayed low. There was only 1 outage during the 14 months from tropical storm Bill, and they had it resolved in around 4 hrs. Never had issues speaking with customer service or getting new product info. I like that they do not have automatic contract renewal. After contract expires it moves to month to month unless you renew your contract. After the contract my prices still stayed the same. Thanks for having me Green Mountain!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jordan from Galveston on July 4th, 2016


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

37 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Love Green Mountain Energy
I've been with them for over 5 yrs. no gimmicks. not the cheapest rate but best bargain overall when you have stability of fixed rate and no unexpected fine prints.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Truli from Richardson, TX on February 24th, 2021
Min5
Cost chart was an eye-opener as green mountain energy occupied spots 2,3,4 regarding electricity costs. My bill is about 30% cheaper - NOW, since switching to GME!!! I was motivated when TXU Energy was going to "change" electric rates GIVING ONLY ONE MONTHS Notice. Switching to GME Has proven to be a WISE Decision.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

RonCast from League City, TX on July 23rd, 2018
Thank you for your great review! We are here if you need us.
— Green Mountain Energy
Green light for Green Mountain
Ive never needed or contacted customer service. Billing is accurate, payment is automatic, if the price looks good to you then go for it!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Big D Bubba from Carrollton, TX on April 30th, 2018
Higher price but you get what you pay for
I never had any problems with this company, I had a 714 sq ft apartment, gaming systems, fridge, washer, dryer and what not - paid about $135 a month during the summer, around $90 during the winter - sign up was easy, customer service was polite etc.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MarieG from Houston, TX on January 11th, 2018
Poor customer service
I've been with Green Mountain for about 5 years, I called customer service about an issue, talked to 3 different reps got told 3 different answers. No one could give me a straightforward answer, customer service support is bad, other than that everything is fine. Hope I will never have to call again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D J from Lancaster, TX on December 29th, 2017
Pleased
We have had Green Mountain Energy for 3 years and have had absolutely no problems. Our electric bill has been the lowest we have every had. I have no reason to want to change and have 3 years of why I would recommend them to others.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

MSQuinby from Richmond, TX on December 9th, 2017
Solid choice for Renewable Energy
Green Mountain doesn't have the cheapest plan by far, and not even the cheapest renewable plan, but they do have stability, consistency, and reliability. I've been a customer for several years now (coming up on my third contract renewal) and I'm very wary of switching away from GME even if it means potentially saving $1000 a year on power. Their website is easy to use and intuitive. Averaged billing great.

The ONLY negative I ever experienced was when I was not paying attention and missed the contract renewal. Once you switch to "month by month" expect to be paying almost DOUBLE the rate. To be fair, they did send me ONE letter about this, and from what I'm reading many companies are much worse about not nudging the customer to renew a contract so the company can reap those sweet, sweet month-to-month rates. So stay on top of that contract renewal!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

David C. from Humble, TX on November 22nd, 2017
Great for smaller households
Green mountain was one of the only/few companies offering lower rates for using less than 1000 kwh. Our last bill, when we weren't using heat or ac was $45.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joan from Fort Worth on May 19th, 2016
Honest clean electricity
After two years of service I'm very happy with this company. They stick to only wind and solar energy and deep their rates very stable. Compared with other supply companies I've used I find the customer service easy to reach and very friendly. I've never had a problem with my bill or my power.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brian Livingston from Houston on January 21st, 2016
Great Energy Provider
My personal experience with this energy provider has been in fact very good over the last several month since switched from Reliant Energy. The switch reduced our monthly energy bill to half, while giving us an impression of helping the environment and saving the world a bit.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hunter Wang from Houston on April 14th, 2015


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

22 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
No more Solar plans from a Green Company??
We put 1.75 MHZ into the grid this month and pulled ~1,100 KW and we got a bill for 90$ - how does that math work? I called Green Mountain to check and see if it was just an error but was informed that the plan we were on no longer exists (they did not contact me) and they ONLY have a month-to-month plan available now AND that is it - meaning the price can/will vary as Green Mountain deems necessary. Adding to this, what happen to the ~600 KW+ our panels put on the grid?? I was told by Green Mountain that the energy amount added to the grid by our panels was less than we burned as reported by Oncor. Sorry - I was born at night, but not last night. I have moved to Rhythm Ops, LLC and recommend all Solar panels owners using Green Mountain consider the same or plan on the month-to-month reality.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

DDavis from Irving, TX on August 30th, 2021
DISCONNECTED SERVICE, THEIR MISTAKE!!
I called the morning of Jun. 1,2020 to ask the why my electricity is disconnected. I clearly called them on 2 occasions to cancel my disconnection notice since I had not yet moved into my house. They told me after I waited over an hour being transferred, that they will connect me in 1 or 2 hours top. It is not 5:15 p.m I have NO ELECTRICITY & they are not answering. I am so humiliated after paying them $218.00 balance that was suppose to be made in payments & they still haven't taken the time to connect my service. It is outrageous. I have been a loyal customer for over 5 or 6 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

COLD HEARTED COMPANY from Mcallen, TX on June 1st, 2020
Happy til the end
The price we received with our initial contract was outstanding. No issues during the life of the contract. However, a letter comes and tells us of a 40% increase in price. Therefore, we switched to another provider. And as a parting gift they hit us with a $200 contract cancellation fee.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

BGWatson from Fort Worth, TX on April 11th, 2018
Billing Department is Horrendous and no means to contact corporate Hq to discuss
We have been with Green Mountain under their solar panel program for a year. We get an incorrect bill and I call. Customer service says it will be 21 days to correct. I ask for a supervisor who checks, expedites and gets corrected in 5 days. That bill gets corrected but the next bill has a different problem. We've had more months will a billing problem than months without.

The worst is that they provide no contact information for corporate. Corporate needs to review billing issues and revise procedures.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kate from Arlington, TX on November 28th, 2017
Ok
I have Green Mountain Energy now. Everything was going well until I tried paying my bill online at my 4th month. Card Declined. Okay, I payed again called great mountain. Called bank to confirm my info was right. It was. And I charged my bank account three times. And I did the math it didn't add up. I paid on time so no charges should be extra. And I'm really disappointed...I sent green mountain my bill , and bank statements and I haven't heard back from them. I doubt they really care. I'm sure they will enjoy my extra money.. Going to be switching soon.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Disappointed from Houston, TX on March 1st, 2017
Billing Debocal
In December I transferred apartments and did not receive a bill. After not Receving a bill f or almost two months I went online and paid the bill. I also signed up for ebill. After signing up I clicked on the screen for my account information I discovered that they changed my service address and nit my mailing address. In April I was sitting in my room and the lights go out. I discovered that they were cut off due to non payment. This happened without receiving a paper bill, ebill or disconnect notice. Disconnection notices are required under the law. I did not contact Green Mountain and I should have. I just took care of the bill. Well about a month later I get a call while at work from my disabled father who resides with me that the lights are off again. I paid the bill. I did go online and sent an e-mail via there customer service. A couple of hours later I did receive a response. They said it did not show I was signed up for ebill and fixed it were I will receive ebills and paper bills. They also waived the fees associated with the disconnection. I will be contacting them to see if they are going to waive the one from April.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Terri Williams from Dallas on June 4th, 2014
Prices floating up why?
Well, a guy in the grocery was all over me, and I needed to find a lower price. His GM met that. He said to watch out the non-fixed price would drift up. He was right, but it seems they're also changing how they do it---it's certainly not an apparent function of actual usage. It's my 4th month, price up several cents/kWh; and I've got to get out!! Whoever paid the Legislators for deregulation is evil (the industry?) and so is the Legislature. Citizens no longer have "representation" OR redress of grievance. And look how the PUC allowed Smart Meters and won't have real hearings to reverse it?!?!! ARE THERE NO HONEST MEN LEFT IN GOV????
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jo from Harris County on January 23rd, 2014
Prior customer for 5 years
I recently changed energy providers, but I was mostly satisfied with GME during those years. It was great to see how they have expanded to more states and how much their website improved. I was always very appreciative that there was a "green" energy provider in Tx. I didn't mind paying a little more pkw. I enjoyed their convenient bill pay, no hidden fees, friendly customer service reps, and the overall experience. I finally switched because I was able to find a more competitive rate but sad to say they are not "green." If things don't work out with this provider I will probably return to GME. Thank you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Eli from Dallas on January 21st, 2014
Hi Eli! We're glad to hear that you had such a great experience with Green Mountain Energy. Give us a call or go online when your current contract is up and we'll help you find a renewable plan that works best for you. We're looking forward to having you back in the Green Mountain community real soon!
— Green Mountain Energy
IT"S NOT ABOUT PRICE!
I've been with green mountain for two years and I just want to respond to the negative feedback here. When you're shopping for electricity you will always get what you pay for. Dirt cheap electricity always has fees that punish you for trying to conserve energy. Green Mountain isn't the cheapest, but their whole initiative and their intention as a business is the reason why i pay at fair market price. The iphone for example,is a product that has value beyond the price. It's not just you're average joe polluted coal/nuclear electricity. Its clean energy and it feels good to be a part of the growing demand for it, which will bring the price DOWN if enough of us started caring about the earth.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jamal from Dallas on September 10th, 2013
Jamal, thanks for your post. We appreciate you joining us on our mission to change the way power is made.
— Green Mountain Energy
They're alright
Green Mountain has been my provider for the past five years. The only thing I don't really like is the amount you pay - at first it was fine, and now I'm looking to change. It's great if you're "green" and they provide information about how much emissions you've saved and how many trees to the equivalent you've "virtually" planted but I need less per watt hour. I'm going to move on. Good luck - they're not bad but I could do better.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lori from Burleson on August 18th, 2013
Hi Lori, we would certainly regret losing you as a customer. Please call us at 866-785-4668 to learn about our alternative rate plan options.
— Green Mountain Energy


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

36 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Shell game
When I first joined in April 2020 I was told the energy company would buy back my excess generated energy at the kWh rate I was being charged. Several months later I was advised this policy had changed and my energy would be placed in a bank in case I needed it.

Now, this month I received the first bill for electricity useage. This is in spite of the fact that since April 2020. I had produced over 35,000 extra keg than I had used. That is 35,000 kWh that the provider has sold to someone else for a profit.

So I called and I was told the PUC had changed the policy and placed a cap on banking excess energy. So Green Mountain has confiscated my bank and now, not only am I paying for a solar power system but Im once again paying an electric bill. They are giving me a credit for what I produce but it is capped and pays a lower rate.

I have contacted my State Senator and my State Representative. If I did this to someone, I would be charged with Theft/ Fraud or both.

I have contacted another energy company who stated they have not heard anything about this PUC policy and I will be transferring my account to them on Monday.

I AM TIRED OF BEING TREATED LIKE THIS BY GREEN MOUNTAIN. I WAS TRYING TO BE A GOOD CITIZEN AND A RESPONSIBLE USER OF DOLAR POWER AND I HAPED BEEN FISCALLY ASSAULTED.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Charles Russell from Alvin, TX on February 20th, 2022
Thanks for leaving us a review. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1740 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
No commitment to existing customers or environment
Our first break with GME was when they were offering better rates to new customers, but would only renew loyal customers at higher rate. When we moved to a home with solar, we again tried GME because they offered solar credits. Now they are eliminating that. Seems pretty hypocritical to say they support "green" energy but then refuse to support it. Since the buyback rate is less than the sale rate, it's not as though they can't still make some profit, if they cared to actually help environment. Obviously greed is the motivating factor. Luckily, Reliant and Rhythm offer solar plans for homeowners. Seems true green energy consumers are leaving GME in search for companies with integrity.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

CristyW from Belton, TX on February 4th, 2022
Cristy, this isn't the experience we want for our loyal customers. We apologize for the billing issues and would like the chance to address them. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1732 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Don't give them your business
This company will fee you to death. They'll thank you for being a loyal customer until you can't pay on time. If you have a perfect life and don't live paycheck to paycheck you might be fine here. But get real, how many of us in TX have that luxury. GME will slap a late charge and cut-off notice fee on you the day after your bill is due. That gives then an extra $30 a month on top of the highest KW charge per hour. For renewable energy they get off the grid. There customer service is okay but they're mostly off shore employees. Theyre just a horrible company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

G. Dudley from Arlington, TX on October 11th, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy.
— Green Mountain Energy
Too expensive
Poor customer service last month electric bill was kinda nice $170.00 this month paid $321.00 over $150.00 jump in just one month glad I am going with txu !
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mark from Odessa, TX on June 29th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback.
— Green Mountain Energy
Cutting power without warning
Been happy customer until yesterday when they cut power at my address without warning. I moved and they were very prompt to add my new address and switch on power. They were also very prompt to cut power at my old address without warning although house still on the market. When I called to move they asked when power had to be switched off. I could not provide an answer since house was put on the market for sale. They put a date and told me to call to change it if I was selling it. My online account showed both my accounts with end date in 2025, the end of my 5 year plan so was not worried. Well, they cut power without warning. And now they want me to switch to a month to month variable plan, much more expensive. Needless to say, I changed provider. I was on autopay so very low maintenance for them, by definition always paid on time. Unbelievable the lack of care for their customers. I highly recommend to look elsewhere (the only reason it is not one star across the board is because they were prompt to sign me on the first time)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Serge from Houston, TX on June 24th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1842 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Beware new scheme from the company (probably others)
When my last contract ended, they did not send any notice of my rates going up. This time, they sent me a notice to renew by a date last month. So, I chose to renew with another company this month, but they are informing me of a $200 fine for renewing a few months early. I was a complacent customer for 20 years, but never again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marc S. from Dallas, TX on January 15th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1831 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Last bill
Did not issue credit for solar on last bill and charged a disconnect fee. I disputed the last bill and still no word from billing department
Lousy service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ross from Corpus Christi, TX on July 19th, 2020
We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1829 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.
— Green Mountain Energy
Non-Flexibility w/Payments
First higher rates than some, but I was ok with that due to the environmental considerations. What I'm not ok with is I am a single mom, single income and there is no flexibility with this company when it comes to payment arrangement, if there is some kind issue arises.. especially if you typically stay caught up. They, however, will cut service as soon as the next bill generates with zero warning or communication. Most electric companies that I've used forever in my 30 plus years will allow you to get it paid before your next one is due... not these guys at all.. no notice, nothing indicating that you will be disconnected at all if you are on paperless billing.. no mention in the weekly emails they send, no mention when I logged in to see what my due dates. AND furthermore customer services is of zero help, I had a perfect storm of personal financial crisis happen in the last two months and was left a bit short (large vet bill with an animal that was internally bleeding and several hundred $ car repair)... I can easily pay the bill before the next due date, but they say they have no wiggle room or ability to turn my service on. We all know that is not true.. there is always a way.. they have set a protocal that cleary indicates to their customers that they don't care at all. So right now my services is off, I have no family to call for assistance.. sad part is I can pay my bill and the current portion a week from tomorrow... and be all caught up.. so for now, good riddance... I will pay my next bill and will move on to another company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lisa from North Richland Hills, TX on March 4th, 2020
Thank you for leaving a review, Lisa. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We'd like to help look into options. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1814 and additional information for more information.
— Green Mountain Energy
DONT USE GREEM MOUNTAIN
They may offer competitive prices and plans at first but they always find ways to charge up your bill during your time as a customer. I lived in a one bedroom apt and it cost more using Green Energy to cool and power electronics there than it does in my 4 bedroom two story house. They also have poor customer service and do not process closure claims properly. I closed my account in may and I'm still being billed because they waited a month to close it. This is the SECOND time they have done this to me. 10/10 WOULD NOT RECCOMEND this company, go for TriEagle!! They are great.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Colleen from Houston, TX on June 25th, 2019
Hi Colleen. We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with us. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1802 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
— Green Mountain Energy
Easy to sign up, but difficult to get them to honor specials
I signed up with Green Mountain under a deal when they promised a $100 gift card. I never received my gift card. I then moved to an apartment where utilitied were included, so I did not have to order electricity service, and had a past due balance with Green Mountain. My intent was to use the gift card to take care of my past due balance, but I still never got it. After that lease was up, I moved back to another apartment where I had to get electric service and I went back to Green Mountain. They still tried to charge me for the past due balance and still would not send me my gift card. Customer should not have to jump through hoops just to get what they are entitled to. For this reason I would not recommend Green Mountain.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Marcus H from Irving, TX on April 28th, 2018


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

312 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Green Mountain energy
They are horrible dont go to them Ive had them for years they were great then all of a sudden I get 400 bill taken out of my account then another 200$ for an 18 day service I switched I will never refer another person to this shit company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Frankie Sauseda from Waco, TX on March 5th, 2022
Thanks for your review, Frankie. We would like the opportunity to review the account to see how we can help. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1745 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Green Mountain Electricity cant be trusted
Dont trust Green Mountain Energy. I sold my house, stopped service, yet they continued to charge me for electricity that I obviously wasnt using. I called several times to have them adjust my last bill, received several emails & a couple of letters saying they were adjusting my last bill. The next thing I know they have turned my account over to collections. The $ isnt the issue, but I will suggest that nobody trust this company for your electricity.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Georgi Ann Jasenovec from Round Rock, TX on March 2nd, 2022
Hi Georgi. We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1743 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.
— Green Mountain Energy
Not satisfied
I was a Liberty Energy customer with no complaints. Liberty went bankrupt and automatically transfered my account to Green Mountain with the letter stating Green Mountain will honor my Liberty contract. Not only has Green Mountain not honored my contract they severely over charge me. My bill from Liberty last year for Jan 2020 was $60. My usage has not changed from year to year. However my Green Mountain bill was $139. No way should my bill EVER be that high in the winter. I live in a small 2 bedroom house and my heat is natural gas not electric. Historically my electricity bill is low in the Winter and increase in the summer. My natural gas bill increases in the Winter and decrease in the summer. I'm waiting on Green Mountain to explain to me a 50%+ increase from year to year. My goal at this point is to dump Green Mountain for a more a family budget friendly and fair electricity company like Liberty.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mary Williams from Houston, TX on February 17th, 2022
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, Mary. We are happy to go over usage with you. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1741 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Liars about plan details
I had a great 1st year and at renewal time I had to renew to a different plan. I have solar panels solar panels so the companies I can use are limited. I called several companies and had detailed conversations about how the plans worked. I finally decided to stay with Green Mountain as it would be a little cheaper than other companies. I got my first bill after renewing and it isn't at all what they explained to me. It is going to cost me a lot more than what it should have. When I called for help they really didn't care that I was lied to about how the plan works and would still charge me $150 to cancel. The guy on the phone kept trying to tell me I could change to one of their other plans, which is not a solar buyback plan. I had this run in circles conversations like 5 times. After 2.5 hours and two different people nothing was resolved.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kristie from Houston, TX on February 4th, 2022
Hi Kristie. We regret that you had a negative experience when you called for help. We would be more than happy to assist you with the concerns about your account. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1731 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Complete garbage for extra $$$
My first two bills were 80-100$ then after for the rest of my 12 year plan it was 150$ each payment. i have a one bedroom apartment with everything turned off when i go to work. i use electricity sparingly and dont over use my a/c. i had the free nights plan and it sure didnt help a bit. i was spending 100$-120$ at most on previous provider. before it was time to renew a month ahead i checked their new plans. they are increased drastic amounts 14-16 cents a kw. i found a different provider like the one i had before green mountain and will enjoy saving 50$ every electric bill. do yourself a favor and stay far away from green mountain electric, worst idea ive had in past 3 years.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joshua from Victoria, TX on December 27th, 2021
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review, Joshua. We are happy to go over usage with you. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1719 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Solar Credit Is held Hostage
I have Solar with over $400 worth of credit. Green Mountain is holding my money hostage and refuses to give the credit back. This even after my contract expired and I renewed.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Boby Lewis from Jarrell, TX on November 22nd, 2021
Hi Boby, thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. This isn't the experience we want our customers to have and would like to review this issue. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1706 and additional information.
— Green Mountain Energy
Awful
We've been with GM for years.maybe 7 or 8..we noticed our bill recently started getting higher the past few months. lived at same place for past 6 years..almost $400 this month, for a 2 bedroom...and no one is home during day...and we have "free nights". in june asked how to lower it, they suggested a better plan....but failed to tell us it doesn't start until Nov.... my in laws have a 5 bdrm house, 2 AC units and home all day...their bill was $172 this month..they have Champion energy..time for us to switch.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Kelly from Carrollton, TX on September 10th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback.
— Green Mountain Energy
Not honest
They will sometimes bill you twice within the same month, which is extremely hard for those of us that can't afford to budget over $600 on electricity per month. You'll be locked in and will owe a fee to change companies, which is standard. I just wish I had done better research about their billing. I don't find their prices to be any better than any other company.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Billed Twice A Month from Missouri City, TX on August 30th, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy.
— Green Mountain Energy
Solar Buy Back
Our solar panels were installed in March. We spent a month getting services set up with Green Mountain. Sounded like a great company, with their buy back plan. However, they will only buy back what you use, so the other 1000's of KW's our solar panels produce go where? I just want a far exchange, it is not a fair plan to only match what is used. I spent over an hour, multiple times trying to get this fixed, but it doesn't get resolved, I keep getting switched to another person and have to explain the entire situation over again, only to be told that type of plan does not exist, or another tried to charge me to switch plans, which was not my error to begin with. Total run around!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Barbara Tucker from Alpine, TX on August 21st, 2021
We appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that you are not happy with your experience with Green Mountain Energy.
— Green Mountain Energy
WORST ENERGY SERVICE EVER
Do not go with green mountain energy. I cancelled my services with this company back in may. They sent me a bill and i cannot seem to get a direct answer from this company on the break down of my bill. I called and i talked to a lady on the phone she said that my bill was competely wrong and she would give me a call back a couple days later. She never called and then I called again and I was asking Wanda about the charges on my bill and she started yelling at me because I the charges do not add up because they were continuing to charge me when i cancelled the service. I DO NOT commend green mountain. Their customer service is horrible. I have never been yelled on the phone due to a electricity bill when all I am trying to do is get a break down of my services. WORST COMPANY EVER!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brittnee from Rockwall, TX on July 28th, 2021
We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback.
— Green Mountain Energy


Recommended Suppliers:




Texas Electricity Ratings Resources: