Just Energy Customer Reviews

We've been collecting customer reviews for Just Energy so you can get the inside scoop on what it's like to be a customer.

If you want to know our take, check out our Just Energy Ratings page.

Informational Links

Ratings by Star

Just Energy's Customer Reviews Summary

Just Energy Scores and Ratings:

Texas Electricity Ratings Overall Score for Just Energy

2.3 / 5

Just Energy Reviews

Reviews for Just Energy

total reviews

Want to order Just Energy?

What People Are Asking About Reviews for Just Energy?

Is Just Energy good?

Just Energy is generally rated with an average user review of 1.5/5.0 stars. They have a wide variety of energy plans suited to any energy need starting from rates as low as 11.9¢/kWh!

Is Just Energy expensive?

Just Energy has energy plans starting as low as 11.9¢/kWh with their Base Saver III - 12. The average Just Energy plan rate is 14.42¢/kWh. The average rate for energy plans across other retail providers is 12.29¢/kWh.

Who is the best electricity provider in Texas?

The best electricity providers are:



Just Energy vs. TXU - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between TXU and Just Energy:

TXU Just Energy
Plan Count 8 4
Average Rate 17.5¢/kWh 13.70¢/kWh
Average MRC $2.49 $0.00
Plan Types
Fixed Rate
Month-to-Month
Tiered Rate
Bill Credit
Bundled Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Clear Deal 12
from 13.90¢/kWh.
Base Saver III - 12
from 11.90¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Clear Deal 24
from 14.90¢/kWh.
Just Energy Web - 24
from 13.90¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Just Energy vs. Reliant - Which is better?

Here are the comparisons between Reliant and Just Energy:

Reliant Just Energy
Plan Count 4 4
Average Rate 16.80¢/kWh 13.70¢/kWh
Average MRC $7.48 $0.00
Plan Types Fixed Rate
Tiered Rate
Bill Credit
Bundled Rate
Fixed Rate
Cheapest 12 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 12 plan
from 17.10¢/kWh.
Base Saver III - 12
from 11.90¢/kWh.
Cheapest 24 Month Plan Reliant Basic Power 24 plan
from 16.10¢/kWh.
Just Energy Web - 24
from 13.90¢/kWh.
Number of Green Plans 0 0

Does Just Energy take reviews seriously?

Just Energy has an average user review of 1.5 / 5.0 stars; they respond to 64% of their customer's reviews.

How do I leave a review for Just Energy?

At Texas Electricity Ratings you will find one of the most straightforward, comprehensive, and longest-running Just Energy customer review communities around. With 366 reviews so far, we pride ourselves in our ability to showcase and facilitate customer reviews so that you know you'll be getting the electricity provider that's right for you! If you are a Just Energy customer and would like to make yourself heard, then you are welcome to leave a review on our Just Energy Customer Reviews Page.



Recent Good Review from Harold Brown

Overall Rating
Sams Club is the place to go!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was approached by a young lady in a Sams Club. I was hesitant to switch after having been with Gexa for over 6 years. My bill got cut down by over a third and now in the peak of summertime, my bill is $103 for a 4 bedroom with the free nights plan versus last summer I was paying over $400. I LOVE JUST ENERGY!

Ashley M. from Houston, TX on July 27th, 2022
Hi Ashley M. Thank you for this incredible review and for taking the time out to leave us a 5-Star review. We really appreciate you being a Just Energy customer.

Many Thanks,
Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
My I just energy free night Esperance
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been adjusted any of your customer for five years the last two years Ive had three nights and Im signing a new contract for two more years of free nights

I Have Been Adjusted Any Of Your Customer For Five Years The Last Two Years Ive Had Three Nights And Im Signing A New Contract For Two More Years Of Free Nights from Houston, TX on June 16th, 2022
Hello. Thank you for this incredible review and for taking the time out to leave us a 5-Star rating. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with your plan and service with Just Energy. Thank you for being a Just Energy customer. We appreciate your business.

Best Regards,
Lilly Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Lily fixed my Tara energy problem
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was mistakenly billed for service I did not ask for. Thank you lily!

Pamela Lara from Sweeny, TX on April 19th, 2022
Hi Pamela, thank you for taking the time to leave this 5-star rating. We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. We appreciate the opportunity to have this resolved for you.

Many Thanks,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
High Bill
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was told that the bill will be cheaper, but when I saw a bill today. It's higher than what I got charged from another electric company. My electric bill never goes up over $100 my usually charge around $80, but my current bill with Just Energy is $115. The sales rep told me that it will go down. Instead of going down, it goes up. That's not a good point of changing the company

Mana Dangol from Irving, TX on October 29th, 2021
Hi Mana, thank you for taking the time to leave this review and allowing us the opportunity to assist with rectifying this for you. We value as a Just Energy Customer.

Sincerely,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
I love Just Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

My previous company was charging me $150 monthly for a 2 bedroom apt then I found Just Energy and my mo bills are less than $50. I get notifications about my usage broken down by day so I know where I might be able to save. I love this company.

G Anderson from Forney, TX on May 15th, 2021
Hi Glenda. Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! We are glad to hear that you are happy with our services. Many thanks for being a valued Just Energy customer.

Best Regards,
Alexandria, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Awesome company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Best experience with Just Energy inside of Sams Club they saved me so much money every month never changing because they have a all inclusive rate no surprising delivery charges

John Ventura from Fort Worth, TX on March 17th, 2021
Hello John. Thanks for the awesome review. We work hard to meet our customer's expectations. Were happy to hear that you are satisfied with our service. Thank you for choosing Just Energy

Sincerely,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Love Nights Free
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was approached at Sams club by Just Energy representatives a couple months ago and I was a bit scared at first because I had been with TXU for 5 years. However, I learned I was actually paying too much when the representative compared my bill to how much I would be paying with them. My bill has been under $100 so far and I am really content with Just Energy. No more centerpoint fees! Thank you.

Alisha Jones from Houston, TX on February 9th, 2021
Hi Alisha. Thank you for your review, we appreciate it! We are glad to hear that you are enjoying our fee nights plan. Many thanks for being a valued Just Energy customer.

Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Sams club is where its at!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I joined at sams club last month for the nights free promotion and it was a very easy process which was great. I was hoping for a cheaper bill and thats what I got. My bill went down $70 compared to the $140 I was paying with reliant. Thank you for this promotion to us Sams club members!

Johnathan Villa from Houston, TX on January 22nd, 2021
Hi Johnathan, Thank you for your great review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your plan. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you for being a valued Just Energy customer.


Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor


— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Just beautiful
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

We signed up in Sams club and their customer service and prices were perfect. Their representatives will walk you through it all, no hassle. First bill is looking good! Thank you!!

Sasha Chase from Houston, TX on January 9th, 2021
Hi Sasha Chase, thank you for taking the time to leave this great review. We are so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations. Please feel free to reach out with any questions. ¡We hope you have an excellent day!

Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Best Customer Service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Really helpful customer service and affordable bill. Roughly stays between 50-70 for my 3 bd house on the Nights Free Plan

Ana Gil from Richardson, TX on June 11th, 2020
Overall Rating
Poor Customer service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First of all I am happy with my rate and service from Just Energy. I am however not happy about the customer service end of it. My bill came due 4 days before my payday so I called to extend the due date and I end up speaking with a foreigner I could barely understand and although I've always been on time previously, she wouldn't budge and charged me with a $20 disconnect fee along with a 5% of my bill late fee. That's wrong

Harold Brown from Hurst, TX on September 15th, 2022
Hello Harold Brown,

Thank you for your comment. It would be a pleasure to assist you in resolving your concern regarding your late fee and disconnection letter fee concern. One of our agents is currently contacting you. For your convenience, please call 1-866-587-8674. Rest assured that we will do everything possible to resolve this situation for you as soon as possible. We look forward to speaking with you.

Kind Regards,
Lilly L, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Free nights and weekends don't seem free
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I signed up for the free nights and weekends because my son grandson and daughter-in-law moved in with me and I needed a cheaper energy plan so I thought I was getting a good deal with a free nights and weekends I didn't. my build jumped higher and they're not here now and my bill is still high

Karen Medcoff from Marathon, TX on February 2nd, 2022
Hi Karen Medcoff. We can help with your billing concern. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. One of our agents will be contacting you soon.

Regards,
Yahaira, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Tookie
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A okay just had problems with redemptionreward points

Tookie from Arlington, TX on January 13th, 2018
Overall Rating
Glad I forgot to cancel! Saved me money!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

A just energy sales men came to my door explaining to me that my rate was eligible to go down and that I was paying a separate delivery charge to centerpoint. So when I realized reliant was charging me 18 cents I automatically was down to switch...then I went online and looked at the reviews and almost shitted on myself. I was so scared I had been ripped off and scammed. Anyway I planned to cancel but ended up forgetting and got my first bill a little over a month later and man was I surprised! I saved almost $100!!! What I will say is the rep was very honest with me. She told me that there were cancellation fees but IF I call the 1888 number on the top of my contract they would be waived. You have to call for them to be waived. I've been having them for 6 months now and as a previous loyal reliant customer I must say I don't regret switching. I've also heard they have a new program

Jack from Gordon on July 24th, 2015
Overall Rating
No problems
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had no problems with just energy. I think the key to this is to pay your bill on time. My reason for switching was due to price. I am of the opinion that no electrical provider has better electricity than the other, therefore my biggest concerns are pricing and service. A lot of problems can be alleviated by reading your EFL and asking questions about things that you do not understand. During my contract I found their reps. to be courteous and friendly.

Larry from Missouri City on December 24th, 2013
Overall Rating
Great Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I've had a great experience in signing with Just energy. They are the largest green energy provider in north America. They can't please everybody but needless to say they have A- with the better business bearau. I completely reccomend Just Energy because I don't have to keep renewing my contract every one or two years. They also have all inclusive rates no charge on supply and delivery on my contract. Get Just Energy.

Don from Dallas on August 5th, 2013
Overall Rating
Happy Camper
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

They have a lot of offers, variable plus fixed 1 year up to 5 years. I ended up choosing a 1 year fixed with them, as I have a 1 year lease. Green was 2c more but I opted not to for the time being.


A friend told me about them. Although, I chose them because the price was great, got a bonus gift card, and they are a big name.
Customer service call was almost flawless, got put on hold for a few minutes while they checked credit.

MikeyD from Houston on November 14th, 2011
Overall Rating
Change of Heart About JustEnergy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I had originally given a poor review and wished the death of this company. I change my mind. I had a contract for 16.3/kwh when the rates were in the 20's 3 years ago. I finally decided I would pay the fee for ending the contract early and called them about 3 times and sent several emails asking how much the fee would be and then letting them know that I was going to another company for a better rate if they would not reduce my rate without penalty. They did! My rate went from 16.3 to 10.5 immediately, as I said after about a month of calling and emailing. Also, it wasn't as low as I requested. I wanted 9.0 which was what I saw as the average for the competitors. I am satisfied with JustEnergy at this point.

Anonymous from on December 1st, 2010
Overall Rating
Concering Just Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I am a customer and an Employee of Just Energy since 2008. I have also taken advantage of their green energy program. I am not writing on here to convince people to take this program, it truely speaks for itself. Although our NY market is relatively new and I have not seen the end of a 5 year program. I am aware of their high percentage of customers, North America Wide, that resign after their term ends. I'm sure most people realize that people are more likely to call and complain than they are to call and make a complement. I'm just not sure people are fully aware of what this company is capable of.

Valued Customer from New York on January 20th, 2010
Overall Rating
Good Electric Provider
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have recently just switched to JustEnergy and I am completely satisfied with their rates and plans. I hope others with take to Go Green Challenge as well to help our environment. Thanks

Big Country from Tx--- Spring on November 25th, 2009
Overall Rating
Double charges to credit card
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with Just for over 7 years never had a problem paying my bill on the phone till June and July called the number as I have before and paid the bill and next day check my account and had been charged twice call just and was told they only show being charged 1 time after talking to people I got a lady from Houston who straight it out then paid my bill in July and was charged twice again talked with customer services and got it straightened out again yesterday I received a email stating my bank refused payment called and sent a copy of bank statements to them was told they would look it then was told it a problem with my bank called them and was informed that they refunded one of the July double charges but just energy was paid called just again was told they never double charged at all that why I sent them the statement so just waiting for some one to figure out what they are doing cause everytime I call and get a person have to tell my story over and over and get a different answer. I did ask to speak to the lady I talked to on July 12 but according to my history their was no name of the person I called I find that hard to believe

James from Midland, TX on July 28th, 2022
Hi James. Thank you for your feedback. Please allow us the opportunity to assist you with your current payment concern. At your convenience, contact us at 1-866-587-8674. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible.<br /><br />Best Regards,<br />Lilly L, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Unfortunately events
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

So For the last month I have been dealing with just energy and direct energy. I canceled with direct energy for other reasons and continued with Just Energy. My power recently got cut off today due to someones negligence. I signed up for both electricity and gas and apparently have only been getting billed for gas? So I am now on a timer for the next couple days. I am not impressed! I love Just Energy and I want to stay but what happened ??! I am super disappointed.

Sad from on February 18th, 2021
Hi, thanks for reaching out and bringing this to our attention. We will get back to you as soon as possible to resolve this issue. Thank you for your patience.


Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Your Ripping Us Off
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Just Energy , i would say for 12 months luved up to its obligation.



Now as we enter our 13 month

Just energy wants to Bill Us almonth 300 for 1000k or so .

We will either work this out tomorrow or i will report them to the Texas Public Utility Board for fraud & not pay a red cent as they try to hijack my pocket book..

Un professional, fraud,
Broken Trust with Just

Darlene from Corpus Christi, TX on August 2nd, 2018
Overall Rating
Won't renew but had great service at a good rate
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have enjoyed 8 cents a killowatt for 12 months. My contract is up in a few days and now their cheapest killowatt per hour is 11 cents. So I'm shopping around.

Amy Sidlo from Pearland on March 21st, 2013
Overall Rating
Happy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I am a customer of Just Energy and and employee as well. The only time my bills are high is around Christmas time with all the lights we have on. My contract is almost up and I will resign with them; not just becasue I work there but because they do save me money. If you are being over charged...look at your usage and multiple...do the math. It is not that complex. If you are not getting an actual meter read...then call centerpoint. complain to them since all Just Energy does is bill you for what is used. We don't service you or read your meters. Get Educated!

Anonymous from on February 25th, 2010
Overall Rating
Good company but unethical sales process
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I can tell you that the sales process is really pushy and based on lies. The salesperson knew in advance that I was moving out prior to the 12 months, so he assured me that it was ok as long as, the company could not service the area I was moving to. He offered me in march 2022 to pay the early cancelation fee of the other company ($149 USD) in a reimbursement format, plus no cancellation fee at the end. After the conversation, I did everything they told me and they even send an email telling me that this cancellation fee reimbursement will be charged in my last statement. I called back and customer support assured me(again) that the reimbursement will not be charged at any moment.



After I moved (just as I told them in advance) they charged me the $149 USD, after calling back we settle 75 USD less on this fee (thanks to Amita for her support in this matter), however, I feel the responsibility to tell you that if you want to do business with them be very careful with the small letters on their sales process, dont trust anything theyre telling you unless you can have that in a formal email or somewhere. I end up paying $75 USD for being a fool and trusting the other end of the line.

As for the electricity bill, they help me to pay a little less every month, and I didnt have any other problem with them.

Jose B from Justin, TX on September 8th, 2022
Hello Jose B,

Thank for your very much for allowing us to address your concerns. Your feedback is very important to us and will only help us improve our customer service in order to provide the best experience for our customers.

Best Regards,
Girishma, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Very Dishonest Company - Stay Away From
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I would never recommend this company. When I didn't renew with them and switched to a new provider, they billed me for days the new company billed me. $157 for 3 days of electricity.

TexasGirl from Pflugerville, TX on September 7th, 2022
Hello TexasGirl,
Thank you for your feedback. Please allow us the opportunity to assist you with your billing concern. At your convenience, please contact us at 1-866-587-8674. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards,
Girishma, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
What out for last bill.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I called the date we were out of the home and this was the following month after. Paid bill for that month which should have been nothing since we were already out of house. Gave them our forwarding address. 4 months letter we received a bill from collections agency. The company made no attempted to even contact us. Just for this reason,. I will never use them again.

R Parks from 75759 on August 24th, 2022
Hi R Parks. Thank you for your feedback. Please allow us the opportunity to assist you with your account concern. At your convenience you can contact us at 1-866-587-8674. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards,
Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Regret
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I called the see about when my plan expires before I renew and to of course shop around for best prices elsewhere it need be.. one rep.told me I had until the end of August so when I called back a week later only for them to tell me it was renewed by my husband in early June which he says he didn't authorize it especially for 5years?! that's absurd.


Im upset with some rude customer service reps. I've gotten over the past year . There's always an issue. Payment arrangements they are good yet again the rude customer reps.. after this I will never use Just Energy!

Regret This Company from Euless, TX on August 19th, 2022
Hi Regret this Company, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please allow us the opportunity to assist you with your current billing concern. At your convenience, contact us at 1-866-587-8674. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible.

Best Regards,
Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE I'VE EVER HAD
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been with this company for years! It was great at 1st. I have a rental home that I needed to complete work at for a couple months. I called to connect service as I have service at my primary residence. I was given my same terms I have on my current account. I had issues immediately. I started getting calls and bills in spanish right away. I tried to get that fixed and was told they could not change it. I was told all I had to do was call to cancel and there would be no fees. I was told there was nothing else I had to do. I paid my bills while I was doing work. I completed the work and the service was cancelled. I was charged a $175 cancellation fee. I have had to call several times trying to get this fixed and I keep getting the run around. I have talked to 2 escalation managers and been given conflicting info. The 1st one (Angel)said he fixed my issues and the fee would come off in about 6 days. It didnt. I called and talked to another one (Murali) who was so rude and not helpful or understanding at all. He actually laughed at one point. I told him many times I did not wish to speak to him anymore and wanted to talk to his boss. He denied me this for quite a while before our call ended somehow at 56 mins! He called back minutes later and said he would put in request for me to talk to his boss and the boss would call me within 48 hrs. It never happend. I since sent a detailed email to customer service addressing all this and never got a response. I have finally filed a complaint with BBB (Better Business Bureau) for 1st time ever in my life in hopes they help resolve this. I have spent hours trying to get this fixed. I want to pay my actual bill. They claim they have calls recorded yet they dont go back and listen. I was told by Murali that Angel did not put anything in the notes and implied I was not telling the truth without actually saying it. Murali was SO RUDE! I just sent another email to another customer service link I found in further hopes this wont get reported to my credit before resolution as I pay my bills. Avoid this company, it has gone to the wayside since the new owner took over it appears

Jason K. from Killeen, TX on August 17th, 2022
Hello Mr. Jason Kruttlin,

I would like to thank for your very much for allowing me to address your concerns yesterday. Your feedback is very important to us and will only help us improve our customer service in order to provide the best experience for our customers.

Regards,
Alicia
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Just Energy = High Price Energy
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a loyal customer of Just Energy for several years. At the start their rates were reasonable and their customer service was decent. However since 2020/2021 my bill as nearly tripled for the same plan/rate I have had. Without changing anything at home, my thermostat is set to 80 until 9 pm at night. And resets at 80 starting at 8:00 am. I am on the free nights plan and my bill was $400 for a little over 1,000 sq. Ft. Home. On average my bill is around $150 during hotter months. I attempted to speak with customer service and their response was due to the current market climate and sent a list on what I can do: weather stripping windows and etc. I will be looking to change and go else where for my energy provider.

Lindsey from Burleson, TX on August 15th, 2022
Hello Lindsey,
Thank you for your comment. It would be a pleasure to assist you in resolving your concern regarding your bill. One of our agents is currently contacting you. For your convenience, please call 1-866-587-8674. Rest assured that we will do everything possible to resolve this situation for you as soon as possible. We look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards,
Lilly L, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Customer service lacking
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Moved out of the area and received an email saying no termination fee would be assessed... There was and it took multiple calls in which over half the time the foreign call center reps just hung up. This went on for almost 3 months ended up disputing thru my credit card. Then they tried to send it to a 3rd party collections

Austin from Corpus Christi, TX on April 20th, 2022
Hi Austin. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our apologies for the bad experience. We would be more than happy to assist to verify is resolved. Please, contact us at 1-866-587-8674.<br /><br /><br />Many Thanks,<br />Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
After 1 year, I still cannot access my account
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Very bad service, yes they call you back and transfer you from one person to another and at the end they cannot resolve the issue. How difficult can it be for you to make me access my account online?????

Ashraf Hafez from 78949 on April 18th, 2022
Hi Ashraf. Thank you for leaving a review. We apologize for this issue with your online account. A member of our team will contact you soon.

Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor.
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
$20 Notice of Disconnect 3 days after due date
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

It is egregious and greedy to send out and charge a $20 Notice of Disconnect three days after the due date on a residential account. The late fee charged is reasonable and appropriate in that timeframe. But the $20 Notice of Disconnect three days after the due date is a greedy and a desperate over reach.


Since Just Energy ( the owner of Amigo, Hudson, Tara and others) is trying to bounce back from its bankruptcy you would think the best approach would be to attract and retain customers, not shake them down for a one time fee and risk the customer getting upset and leaving Just Energy, and letting everyone they know not to use them.
I also feel it is dishonest and sneaky that the portal had the "Pay" amount to include the $20 fee but no where on the site did I see an itemized charge for $20 DN - I discovered it by calling Just and questioning the charge. It is likely an intended tactic so that the unsuspecting customer doesn't realize what they are charged and will likely get hit with a similar charge in the future.

Chris from Houston, TX on October 26th, 2021
Hi Chris, thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate your feedback and would like you to assist with any concerns regarding DNP notice fee. Please give us a call at 1-866-587-8674. We want to help you.

Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Completely dumbfounded
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I started today out by chatting with Anita who couldnt understand what I was typing and directed me to sign in to my account, where I clicked on chat again and viola...ANITA. I then attempt to ask questions thinking ok I am logged in, verified this should be easy peasy...nope. I was redirected to an agent who wasnt helpful at all either barely allowed any time to ask a question before closing out the conversation. So I decided to call in...bad move. K spoke with Paul first who was so rude no empathy hugging and puffing like he was annoyed by me when he asked me for my account # and I said oh ok hold on let me get it but it was ok for him to ask me for my name that I had given him at the beginning of the call. Paul proceeded to assist. I let Paul know I have been out of work since 7/30, due 3 of my younger kids getting Covid then I did myself. I returned to work today and also received a disconnect notice with today date over the weekend. I let him know I am not able to pay anything


today, need to know my options. Paul
proceeded to answer, without even acknowledging the fact that k had Covid no empathy anything. He let me know I could pay $156 and some change within 24 hrs of today and remaining amount within 10
Days. He stated my disconnect date was actually today so it needs to be paid today or my services will be disconnected tomorrow. I let him know thats not possible tried to let him know I understand the payment arrangement great can I get a couple more days on the disconnect date or protection on my account at least until 8/25 which I can pay then he of course says no and tells me to call 2-1-1. I couldnt believe this so I request a supervisor. He transfers me to Jabeed who is apart of the escalation que. Jabeed comes on the phone guns a blazing. I ask him for his name and he tells me I need to listen to him cause he is going to tell me what to do. I am instantly offended. He begins to huff and puff annoyed and ready to react to my request instead of respond based on what he heard from Paul. His introduction to our convo set the tone for the call. He told me I need to pay half today and the remaining amount in 10 days. I let him know I cant pay until 8/27, 4 more days I need my account to be protected until that date and then I can pay the remaining half the following Friday on 9/3. He refused to work with me and advised me to call 211 and maybe they can help me even though my electricity will be disconnected tomorrow, 2 of your representatives gave me this an option. Even so kindly told me there were no disconnect notices sent out in February what does that have to do with today?? I paid on time then. I had already confirmed he was apart of an escalation team not a supervisor AP k then requested a supervisor and he refused. Gave the standard reply for your company, his words not mine. I cant speak with anyone above him cause he has to email someone and they call me back within 24-28 hrs. I explained to him several times how would that help me if I have a disconnect notice for today? I would not hang up until I spoke with someone. He continued to be rude then he just went silent for about 15 minutes no hold music hoping I would hang up. I said hello no response then I let him know if he placed me on hold he should have actually placed me on hold so I could hear the music. He begins to say he didnt put me on hold but couldnt explain why he went silent he was not reaching out to a supervisor at the time. I explained to Jabeed several times that I only needed time to pay until 8/25 I could pay half of the balance and remaining amount by 9/3. He insisted I could not pay by then. I mentioned the notice I have shows 8/24. At this point is when I realized Jabeed had not actually reviews my account, as he stated hold on let me review your account to see the disconnect date. This was an hour into the call. He only provided me with information given by Paul. They were set to show me, and they did. AN ENTIRE HOUR BEFORE HE REVIEWED MY ACCOUNT. He apologized for this and at this point he FINALLY began to message his supervisor in an attempt to resolve this issue. His supervisor which is a she refused to speak with me and he refused to give me her name. In order to at least protect my account until 11:59pm on 8/24 as Jabeed mentioned, I agreed to the arrangement he offered to pay 25% of the past due amount. When he was setting this arrangement up at that moment he realized that I did have until 8/25 at 11:59pm to pay not 8/24 at 11:59pm. We went through all this for it to be as I requested. He so rudely told me, you didnt say 8/25. I reminded me of how many times I mentioned that date but he didnt hear me cause he refused to help me. We set the arrangement up and I am still unsure if it is correct since my confidence in Jabeed in this company is so low. This representative, Paul, and the supervisor that assisted treated me so unfairly just to be right and bottom line cruel. They didnt listen they saw my name heard my voice and instantly made the decision to not help me. I cant help but wonder if they saw the name Karen, would they have given better assistance. Is this how your company trains to treat your customers? Especially during times such as these?? He was so belittling and disrespectful when all I need was for my account to be protected from disconnection until 8/26 instead o8/24 cause I could make the half payment on 8/25 at this point to appease this company. I refused to go to 2-1-1. Thats for customers who truly need assistance, I can pay. I just fell on hard times. I have referred 6 of my family members to this company and my daughter is enrolling in September and I am up for renewal. I would like for an AVP or above to call me back ASAP. Not a team lead, supervisor, or anything of that nature. The supervisors name couldnt be given but they even refused to allow me until 8/25 to pay. 1 hour and 30 minutes later I got the results I needed...I hope. Instead of paying 25% as he offered I am paying 50% of the last due amount on 8/25 and remaining amount on 9/3. I have never been so disrespected when I was with Stream and when this contract is up that is who I am returning to.

Deeply Saddened from Fort Worth, TX on August 23rd, 2021
Hello. Thank you for leaving a review we appreciate your feedback
Our apologies that you had an unsatisfactory experience needing to set up a payment arrangement. We want to do everything we can. To get this resolved for you as quickly as possible, a member of our team will be in touch soon. Thank you.

Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Scam Artist
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

First bill was 217 the next month 584 they lie to get you in with them

Jane Doe from Wichita Falls, TX on September 30th, 2022
Hello Jane Doe,

Thank you for your bringing this to our attention. It would be a pleasure to assist you in resolving your concern. At your convenience, please contact us at 1-866-587-8674. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards,
Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
JUST ENERGY. NOT WORTH IT ENERGY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I have been a loyal customer for over five years, used their electricity in two different homes. I will NOT be continuing my service with them. If they didnt charge $175 to cancel my plan I would today. They used to have great customer service and out to provide the best. But this last year they have been absolutely horrible. My bill has tripled, even with it being the warmer months of the year I have never paid as much as I am paying now. For the same plan, keeping my thermostat at 80 during the day and I am on their Free Nights Plan. If you want to over pay, be charged excessive fees and deal with poor custom service choose Just Energy.

Lindsey from Burleson, TX on September 15th, 2022
Hello Lindsey,
Thank you for your bringing this to our notice. It would be a pleasure to assist you in resolving your concern. At your convenience, please contact us at 1-866-587-8674. Our Hours of Operations are from 8 AM to 8 PM (Mon - Fri) and 9 AM - 6 PM (Sat). Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. We look forward to speaking with you.

kind Regards,
Lilly, Social Media Adviso
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
????Fraudulent billing practices
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Just Energy was our electricity provider from 10/2017 until 8/9/22. We switched companies.


We paid our last bill cycle from 7/27-8/09 for $154.98. We received another bill for $74.08 paid it on 8/11/22. Now JE sent us a last bill for 7/27 -8/9 for $166.86???? What a scam...awful...times are hard enough

Cassandra Davis from Plano, TX on August 15th, 2022
Hello Cassandra Davis,
Thank you for your comment. It would be a pleasure to assist you in resolving your concern regarding your last billed date and balance on your account. One of our agents is currently contacting you. For your convenience, please call 1-866-587-8674. Rest assured that we will do everything possible to resolve this situation for you as soon as possible. We look forward to speaking with you.

Best Regards,
Lilly L, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Not good
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Did not give what they quoted and tried to lock me up in a 3 year contract not cool....

Arcelia from Stanton, TX on June 7th, 2022
Hello Arcelia, We appreciate your feedback and would like to assist with your account. We value your business and we would like to have the opportunity to assist you as soon as possible. Please contact us at your earliest convenience at 1-866-587-8674.

Best Regards,
Lilly, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
YOUR BILL IS GOING TO BE OUTRAGEOUS DO NOT USE JUST ENERGY
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I am new to Texas and upon moving in my 3 bedroom duplex in November, my landlord suggested just energy. She told me they give free nights. So I went ahead with this company and agreed to a 12 month contract. NO free nights! No free or reasonably priced ANYTHING. My bill is easily well over $130 every month even though its just my son and I living here and the house is unoccupied from 7 am until after 6 pm daily. Two TVs in the entire home both of which are turned off by 9:30 when my son goes to bed. We have the same amount of usage every month consistently, we started off with our bill at $79 and now this month we are at $160. OH and I agreed to a 12 month contract in November 2021, my account shows they entered in a contract date that doesnt end until 2024. Horrible scamming crooks. Ill be paying the $175 cancellation fee and washing my hands of this garbage company.

Emily from Harker Heights, TX on June 2nd, 2022
Hi Emily. Thank you for your feedback. Please allow us the opportunity to assist you and resolve this. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. One of our agents is currently trying to reach you. Your feedback is much appreciated, Thank You for allowing us to assist you.

Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
The most miserable power in Yoshi
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Ive been working for 30 years as a dental technician I make decent money I lost my job so I was struggle with one electricity Bill with just Energy I called customer service to tell them if there is any plan to help people struggle because I applied for organization and they promised they would help me she said if you pass the due date from your bill payment we can I shut down the power thats mean me and my daughter 10 years old we can sit without power and this weather in Dallas I thought that Ive never hurt for 20 years theres no option or waiting time to pay your bills so I realized this company all what they want the money even if they put you and your family in danger or to die with the Very hot weather

Sam from Richardson, TX on May 9th, 2022
Hello Sam, thank you for your feedback, and we sincerely apologize. We can help with your billing concern. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. Please, give us a call at your convince at 1-866 587 8674.


Best Regards,
Yahaira, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
BAD ELECTRIC COMPANY!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Purchased a home on March 4, 2022, went with Just Energy, as the previous homeowner had them. On March 7, and April 18th, electric was cut off. Just Energy does NOT DEACTIVATE the last homeowners that were in this house. They keep calling and turning our electric off!!! Each time this happens we lose work time, staying home, taking approximately 6 hours with them to get them to turn it back on!!! Then they don't take the blame for this happening, stating it isn't their fault! WHAT!!! No protection to your customers??!! This is an incurring issue, we would like to leave this company without early deactivation fees so we can be protected with an electric company that will use pass-codes, etc...to authenticate who we are on protecting our account.

Joseph from Cypress, TX on April 19th, 2022
Hi Joseph, our apologies for this situation. We thank you for answering the call and allowing us the opportunity to resolve this. We appreciate your feedback. We are working to get a satisfactory resolution for you as quickly as possible.

Many Thanks,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
FRAUD
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Been with this company over six months work all day live in one bedroom apartment each month bill more than 200 a month no emails sent showing usage just lies and deceptions please do not use this company will be reporting to the BBB FOR FRAUDULENT activity when call wait time over 20 minutes no one to speak proper English to have two way conversation worst experience ever HIGHLY DO NOT RECOMMEND FOR ANY BUSINESS

Antriel from Houston, TX on March 14th, 2022
Hi Antriel. We can help with your billing concern. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. One of our agents has now contacted you.

Regards,
Yahaira, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
Very Rude Customer Service Phone rep
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

The rep I had on the phone kept hanging up on me after I asked about rates. Every time I called back and asked him the same thing he would keep hanging up. Very unproffessional. Train your reps better.

Chris from Grand Prairie, TX on February 1st, 2022
Hi Chris, we apologize for any frustration caused. Please rest assured that we will do everything we can to assist as quickly as possible. An agent will be contacting you soon.


Thank you,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy
Overall Rating
My bill wasn't cheaper
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

I was told I was over paying with TXU with a 200 dollar bill, but just energy sent me a 245 dollar bill. I'll be going back to txu. I shouldn't have switched. This is why I don't stop and listen to sells pitch while shopping in sams

Morgan from Spring, TX on January 31st, 2022

Hi Morgan. We can help with your billing concern. Rest assured that we will do everything we can to help resolve this situation for you as quickly as possible. Please give us a call at your convince at 1-866 587 8674.


Best Regards,
Lily, Social Media Advisor
— Just Energy

Compare Just Energy to Similarly Reviewed Electricity Companies

Company
Plan Name
Price
AVG
BILL
Type
Smart Budget 36
15.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Saver Plus 12
11.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Smart Budget 24
16.1¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Smart Budget 12
16.6¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Saver Max 24
22.4¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Saver Max 12
21.9¢
$35.00 monthly recurring charge
Flat Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Saver Value 12
18.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Frontier Saver Plus 24
11.8¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Base Saver III - 12
12.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bill Credit Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Just Energy Web - 24
14.5¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Just400 Advantage - 24
14.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
Just Energy Web - 12
14.9¢
$0.00 monthly recurring charge
Bundled Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueClassic 36
13.4¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueClassic 24
13.4¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueClassic 12
13.6¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability
TrueGreen 12
14.0¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Renewable
Check Availability
TrueClassic 6
13.3¢
$1.99 monthly recurring charge
Fixed Rate Non-Renewable
Check Availability