Reviews for Reliant

The best review categories for Reliant are the order experience, with an average of 1.8 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.8 stars.


Recent Good Review from Joseph

Switched over
I to switched over after going to Walmart and talking to a elses rep for reliant. Everything is going good except I have yet to receive my 100 dollar Walmart gift card, i was told it shipped on January 19th, 2022. Not sure why it taking my so long to get delivered to my apartment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph from Plano, TX on February 13th, 2022
Thank you for the great feedback, Joseph. We'll continue to do our best to provide reliable and affordable service. We're always here if you need us.
— Reliant


Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

40 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 5 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Switched over
I to switched over after going to Walmart and talking to a elses rep for reliant. Everything is going good except I have yet to receive my 100 dollar Walmart gift card, i was told it shipped on January 19th, 2022. Not sure why it taking my so long to get delivered to my apartment.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Joseph from Plano, TX on February 13th, 2022
Thank you for the great feedback, Joseph. We'll continue to do our best to provide reliable and affordable service. We're always here if you need us.
— Reliant
You all SUCK
How lame it is to read all these reviews and all your complaints about high bills lmfao I bet you people wake up 7 am on a sunday to call your service providers and beg for a discount. Pathetic lifestyle yall have. I feel ashamed of texans. Stop crying for your stupid money PLEASE. NO ONE CARES
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Loosers from Houston, TX on October 21st, 2021
Love them
I was shopping at Walmart and was approached by a rep. who was very friendly, funny and explained that I was paying too much for electricity. I switched and found he was NOT lying. Thank God I took the time to listen. I am nee to Texas so I didnt know about companys for service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Monicab from Houston, TX on September 17th, 2021
Asdisted with a verage billing plan ..excellent service from rep carlos 3-17-21
Professional and knowledgeable help from reliant energy electric co .would highly recommend service
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Average Billing Plans Explanation from Weatherford, TX on March 17th, 2021
Hi! We're so glad that you're happy with our services. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Please reach out if you ever have any questions or concerns about your account.
— Reliant
Good service great price
Easy to deal with, fixed price eco friendly.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

J from Tyler, TX on February 20th, 2021
Hi! We're so glad that you're happy with our services. Customer satisfaction is very important to us. Please reach out if you ever have any questions or concerns about your account.
— Reliant
Very happy to call back and ask only Ms. Swami from Reliant customer serv Rep.
I am the Loyal customer. I called second time today after first call (the guy very dissapointed me). Second time I called and Ms. Swami answered to my call and she was very professional, nice, she answered to all my questions regarding my rate plan and my rewards. I am happy the Reliant company has such amazing people who has right professional etiquette to talk with customers. Thank you Ms. Swami- I would be happy if next time I will call the cust.serv.again to update my plan, so I will in the right place with right person like you to talk about new plan for continue with Reliant.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Zhanarina from Houston, TX on January 15th, 2021
Thank you for the great feedback, Zhanarina. We'll continue to do our best to provide reliable and affordable service. We're always here if you need us.
— Reliant
The best
I'm still indebted to the customer service representative Nathally who walked to my door courageously and convinced me to opt into reliant Energy. I don't regret signing up for this service. The best ever i have used
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Pascal N. from Balch Springs, TX on September 17th, 2020
Educated sales service!
So I've begun shopping for electric providers now due to covid and at the need for at-home savings, I had the privilege of working with Mr Anthony Trevino out of Grand Prairie Texas. I've always considered myself a smart shopper but never in the area of electric costs. And I've never worked with Reliant Energy ever. My experience today was enlightening to say the least. I spoke to someone that was passionate to not only sell the product but to genuinely help me learn and break down what every cost means. And although I did not make a switch today (due to some transition), when I am ready and I will be, Anthony Trevino at Reliant Energy will have my business that's for sure! Thank you Mr Trevino for making an educated Electric Energy Shopper out of me and making me feel better about this life decision.
Claudia Martinez Pena
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anthony Trevino - Reliant Energy Rep from Burleson, TX on July 6th, 2020
Mrs Drama Queen
Hi as you may guess yes I am Mrs Drama Queen. I just became a customer today and power was scheduled for turn on today. I thought when i was approved with 0 deposit it was a good day that it was my lucky day. NOT! First off it was not from Reliant all that had happened , had happened. I had been living with my In-Laws for the past 7 months , 5 days , 4 hours , 57 mins. , and 15 seconds. Yeah that bad. Anyway a house my Mother In-Law owned all of a sudden became ours. My husband and I's. I had to go through drama to get the people living there out. Finally I had to get them evected. So out they went. I am not sure exactly when but they were gone by the time I went by yesterday checking to see if it was cleared so I could starting moving. Well people when you move into a new place dont forget to check everything including the utilities if they were on or off. As far as I knew they were on that pay as you go electric. I had told them a few days before to shut everything down that I wouldn't carry them , so yesterday I assumed all was off. Today I called around for Power and up tell Reliant none of the others made any sense. Seriously! When I was approved and told my Power would be on today. I was excited. My husband he has serious seizures. Especially in hot mugging weather , which was what it was like today. My husband has what they call Grandma Seizures which is the worse of it's kind. And almost all of the time when he has one he ends up in the hospital , at times as long as a month. Anyway after a hour went by I got on my tablet , found Reliant signed up waited about a hour then got on my tablet again , going to Reliant's web page and the lady who helped me ( think her name was Sandra ) was calm , polite , and very helpful. She assured me that the power would be turned on. So after logging off I waited for almost 3/4 hours. You ever have the feeling of pure panic run through-out your body? I did! I was scared out of my mind. My husband usually is the only one who can calm me down. Well he was Pail as a ghost. That's when I started calling again. What they on the other line didn't know , ( the Reliant Customer Service Person ) was I couldnt drive my husband to the hospital , and my tablet refuses to let 911 calls go through. I didn't tell them this , honestly I didn't think it would matter to them. Then my phone decided to have a mind of its own it kept shutting down , and always just when I was about done. It did this about 4/5 times , each time I had ( at least I thought I did) to start over. They , in total I believe was three no four operators , all started out with getting me calm and I would tell them what was going on , never failing right on cue that's when my tablet decided to venture on it's own. It shut off. Well this went on until the 5 time and then I think Juan C. Is his name. He stopped me before I got first sentence out , he said no problem that he'd would read the notes or what not and he'd be right back. Minutes later he was confirming the questions and concerns i had expressed to the other Operators. He said no problem got it. Guess what , yeap my Tablet went blank
I wanted to scream , but instead I cried. That's when it happen !Bam! Power! The Power came on. Well my husband is good. He took a cold shower and rested. As the night winds down I remembered what JuanC had said right before being disconnected, he said no problem I got it. And I'll be dam he did just that. Now I on the other hand , Yes I am doing fine but after spending 4 hours on and off the phone , not knowing what I'd do if my husband had one of those moments , I am now off to the liquor store I think it's a good night for me and Mr. Patron to get to know each other. Thanks Reliant for being what all the other electric companies swear up and down to be , but aren't. That's honest , caring , helpful in times of need , a friend.
Well all at Reliant
( Especially the ones that had come to my rescue )
Stay safe , and Healthy
And Please..........
" Be Safe "
" Be Happy "
" Have Fun "
" Peace Out "
Sign: A Very Happy Customer
Lisa C.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Lisa Coppage from Robert Lee, TX on May 26th, 2020
We are thrilled to hear that our customer service team was so helpful to you. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review, Lisa. We are happy to provide great customer service and appreciate your business. We're always here if you need us.
— Reliant
Excellent service
The service is excellent, helpful staff and great experience
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Vo from Houston, TX on May 7th, 2020


Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

28 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 4 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Overcharge their long-term customers and will charge you at end of your contract
Have been with Reliant for 6 years. Every year, they would increase my rate for the same plan. I realized that they charge about 1.5x the rate of their competitors for comparable services so I decided to switch providers when my latest contract expired on 9/10. Two days after my contract expired, I received an email confirmation stating that my contract had ended and that I would no longer receive power from Reliant because I had switched providers on the day my contract expired. I paid my final bill and thought that was it. I just received another bill today for an additional $117. I contacted Reliant and they stated that the bill was due to an excess usage charge of 1300 kwh that I had supposedly used on 9/9 - 9/10 (1 day of service). I argued with them saying that there was no way I could use 1300 kwh in a single day when that was my usual MONTHLY usage. They said the usage was reported by TDSP so I went on the Smart Meter Texas website and found that I had only used 40-45 kwh everyday for the past month, including the dates in question. I ended up paying the bill because I was tired of arguing with Reliant and they were not offering any resolutions. All I know is that this entire experience provided reassurance that I made the correct decision in changing providers. I will be communicating to whoever I can to not use Reliant because not only do their upcharge their customers, they are dishonest in their billing practices.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Amin from Houston, TX on September 13th, 2021
We are sorry to hear that you've had a negative experience with our company. We would like the opportunity to learn about your experience. Please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Better than people say
I have averaged about 10 cents per Kwh and never had an issue with billing or hidden fees. Maybe other users didn't read their plan.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Another User from Spring, TX on January 16th, 2021
We're pleased to hear that you're enjoying our service. Thanks so much for leaving us a review and sharing your experience.
— Reliant
Reliable product and fantastic customer service
While I used them for my needs, Reliant had reasonable rates and I never experienced an outage like I had from other providers. The place they really shined was helping me cancel their services, oddly enough! I spoke with a friendly support person who assisted me in terminating my account due to DV related issues. I would happily work with this company again just because they proved they cared more about my safety and wellbeing than my money.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Shawna from Denton, TX on April 18th, 2020
Good Customer Service
I just chatted with Reliant rep Cassidy. She answered all of my questions, got me logged into the Reliant website and helped my lower my kWh rate by 5 cents per kWh. Very good service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JB from 11111 on July 26th, 2017
Easy move out
Had some question in moving electricity from current address to new address. customer service person Justin helped with patience. he is great and solved my questions/problem quickly.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dav from Dallas, TX on July 25th, 2017
Great Customer Service
When I call any customer service department I am sometimes surprised to find myself speaking to someone from India or China. Not with Reliant! You will be able to understand them and they will take ownership of your problems. You may find yourself talking about common concerns before you say goodbye or even promising to say a prayer. They have great people on the other end of the phones! And they may live just a few towns over.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nonni23 from Corsicana, TX on July 1st, 2017
No complaints, great company.
This was my company last year with a 12 months plan, they let me sign in without a deposit (taking in consideration I had no credit history as a new resident to this country.) The website is very good you can easily manage your account and do everything online.

Great Customer Service.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Hector Almaguer from Houston on August 15th, 2016
Lo-ong time user
I have used Reliant since before the breakup of the monopoly when it was HLP. Had a few problems before computer technology, but they were quickly fixed. Usually had to do with mis-reading the meter.

I'm on Reliant Secure 12 plan, with Bill averaged over 12 mo. 1 person - 1,000 sf. - Aug 1291 kWh, Sep 1131 kWh, Oct 826 kWh. Bill each month is from $100 to $111.

Time to renew and was looking for a lower rate. I guess there are some, but the monthly delivery charges get you. And company reviews. Ugh!

Remember, most people only write reviews when they are angry or frustrated (I'm no exception). Since most of the reviews for ALL companies were negative, I'll just stick to the tried and true. At least I know bill will be every month.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Janet from Houston on October 16th, 2015
Excellent customer service
I had an door to door agent come to my house.. I think he said his name was Javier .At first I was going to close the door in his face but I listen to what he had to say and he gave me this new plan called Truly free weekend 36 I was on contract so he gave me $300 dollars bill credit to make up or it every since I did that my bill has been way less then the usual.. He gave me this quote of a price and it came out to be cheaper than what he said... He left me with his number and everything in case I had any questions... If you all see him/them come to your door u better answer because u don't know how much u could be saving... :)
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sherry from Dallas on May 25th, 2015
Pretty Good Company
We have had Reliant for 9 months and it has been pretty good so far. The rates are not too bad, service has been good. There was a little bit of a struggle when I went to renew our plan but they eventually gave us a lower rate.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Scott from Grapevine on March 11th, 2015


Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

26 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 3 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Plans are misleading
I signed up for average billing and I thought I was getting a deal but they carry over the extra usage and you owe a whole bill on the back end.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Micka from Lancaster, TX on October 27th, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Telephone chat
I chatted online with my phone to Brittany. I called asking for extension, I was able to get more time than originally requested. I want to thank Brittany for being so helpful and prompt in assisting me. She was very professional and I can tell she is very nice. Thanks again Brittany good job
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Cindy from Houston, TX on February 17th, 2020
Pricey
I have not been home (2 bedroom apartment ) in 1 month , and my bill is $150 . How !!! And I havent been home ..
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

JustWoW26 from Killeen, TX on January 5th, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Too Expensive
Expensive- They have their own rate per kWh rate, then Center point passed on rate. Feels like i am ripped off. all together i am paying 13 kWh.
Their online portal wont allow to schedule payment of your own chosen date.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Too Expensive from Katy, TX on December 1st, 2019
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We are happy to go over fees, usage, and charges with you. We also have tools to help manage your account like weekly summary emails and home energy snapshots. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 for assistance with your account.
— Reliant
On line chat
I was using the on line chat for assistance about my current plan. Heidy was pleasant and very helpful, as well as responding quickly to my needs.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Brenda from Carrollton on May 14th, 2016
Used to be better, as a 5-year loyal customer, impossible to enroll a plan at new customers' rate
As a customer with reliant for over 5 years, i think it's time to leave.
it used to be pretty easy to fix the rate whatever the plans i could find online, but not the case any more since about a year ago. rep keeps telling me, you're not eligible for this, not eligible for that, and trying to trap me to sign a much higher rate pricing plan instead.
in past 5 years, the overall experience was pretty smooth, no disconnections and just few glitches here and there.
but business is just business, customers are looking for lowest rate indeed, and there're companies with quality service too.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mike from Houston on February 8th, 2016
Satisfaction
Very satisfied.13 years already...
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Assaad Rechdan from Houston on December 29th, 2015
Once the promotion ends
They had a good promotional price when you sign up with them, but the pricing after contract and what they have to offer is less desired. Even when an account manager contacted me with a better promotion which I calculated to what my usage last year was everything would be $30+ dollars more a month. Its a hassle shopping around and switching, but you need to do with you need to do. Customer service is great and no hidden charges, but the pricing will not be comparable to what you sign up for. If you are able to understand the charges that you can calculate the price differences from other companies. Don't focus on average pricing. To estimate costs take your energy charge and add it with delivery charge which would give you your base cost per kWh. Then there is the recurring fee of $8.72 for delivery charges from every provider so that is standard. Also be weary of base charge. Reliant doesn't charge this but some companies do. Also note even with the added base charge a company could probably still be cheaper because of the lower kWh charge. Some plans have variable energy charge for instance if you use 1000 kWh you get a charge at 5.2 cents but if you go above that say 1001-2000+ kWh then its 8.9 cents. Definitely pay attention to that if you consume 1001+ kWh. Either way they will get your money just depends on your usage as they say. You might pay more for less but if 3 months out of the year you use less then 1000, then the savings for your usage will be noticeable if you are a high energy consumer.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

D from Houston on February 13th, 2015
Straightforward and honest
After 2 years with another electricity company in Houston, I switched to Reliant.

The switch was very easy.

Reliant has slightly lower rates than other companies in Houston area.

Most importantly Reliant runs a fair and honest business. Their contract is more customer-friendly than other electricity companies I tried. There are no secret fees stipulated in small print, unlike in Green Mountain Energy. I pay a reasonable bill every month.

I have had no problems with Reliant so far. I would definitely recommend Reliant over Green Mountain Energy.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anonymous from Houston on August 11th, 2014
Excessive Transmission Charges
Been with Reliant for forty years but feel it is now time to move on at the end of the current plan. This month my electricity usage was $90.00 and the transmission and other charges dinged me for another $50.00. I haven't seen such high charges for transmission since I have been on this current horrible plan. I am a senior so I am concerned.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Margaret Talbot from Houston on October 10th, 2013


Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

60 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 2 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
Do you enjoy your energy
Do you enjoy having hours of your time wasted on the phone only for nothing to be fixed? If so come on over we have spent the last week trying to get our energy transferred to our new place. 7 calls around 30-90 minutes a piece to only be told the same thing over and over
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Anthony from Fort Worth, TX on April 12th, 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, Anthony. We're sorry that you didn't have a satisfactory experience when you contacted us. If you would like for us to look into this issue further, please call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Very disappointed with this company
I had reliant for two years. Everything was okay for the time been. Then suddenly I decided to switch to a different electricity provider and the double my last electric bill. Their excuse is that their system changed my plan to average usage. I did not even know about it. I was like,what the? They told me I need to keep the account monitored. Hello!!!! I had a two year plan!! You were not supposed to change it! Now I have to pay over $400 dollars for the month of December 2021! Are you kidding me?! It's not even Summer!!!this is outrageous!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sandra from Houston, TX on January 11th, 2022
Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Poor Customer Service
Our church requested a review of our account several months ago and it was found that we were overcharged just over $1,800, which we were to be refunded. That was several months ago. Supposedly we were sent a check, but it went to the wrong city! Multiple attempts to resolve this have been unsuccessful, with us being told "it will be resolved within 3 weeks." Still nothing!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Andre Howard from Freeport, TX on November 19th, 2021
Hi Andre, thanks for the feedback. This isn't the type of experience we want our customers to have and we would like the opportunity to review this issue. Call us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Fine but crazy expensive
So far the customer service side of things has been fine and we haven't experienced outages unless it's a block-wide one. However, I was jumping between plans every 3-6 months to save money on power before this. Our usual power bill (slight variation during seasons) averages around $50/month. After signing up for reliant for a long term plan my bill instantly jumped into the hundreds. I'm not saying there are sketchy charges, but when signing up I definitely did not foresee some small extra fees becoming big enough to almost double my bill. As soon as my term is over I'm dumping this. I'd recommend hopping plans to get better prices than going with a long term one like I did. Definitely a mistake I won't make again.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dylan F. from Fort Worth, TX on August 12th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Was lied to about renewal rate
I've been with Reliant, formerly HL&P since the 70s. I'd never felt cheated until my current plan renewal. I was told I was getting a better/lower rate than my expired plan. WHAT A LIE!!!! I've NEVER had to pay as much for my light bill as I do now! Then to find that I'm locked into this plan for 2 years, unless I pay $200 for changing my plan. I tried talking to customer service, but it was like talking to a robot; no feelings, no empathy, no caring about your extremely high bills, even though you're a senior with a fixed income. NOTHING!!!
As soon as I find another provider I am done with Reliant. They could care less about me being a loyal customer all my grown life.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Velma McAfee from Missouri City, TX on September 19th, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
EXTREMELY HIGH PRICES
Reliants prices are very sketchy to me. Every single month my bill increases, even if I used less energy than the previous year in that same month. During this terrible COVID pandemic, which has created very hard economic times, especially for a young widow trying to raise two children alone, I feel like your company is just hitting me at every possible turn. I do not have the energy or time to even care to look into another provider because I am barely capable of navigating the death of my husband right now, but I thought you should know your bill, which I can barely pay each month, is the bill I dread receiving the most.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Sommer from Arlington, TX on September 5th, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Experience with Reliant Energy
Ive been with Reliant for approximately 45 years,of course at different residences in the city of Houston. Ive been pretty happy with Reliant until I moved to 3903 Portman Glen Lane in 2004. Ive gotten up in age, and since time each time theres rain or a thunderstorm the electricity and the gas are turned off. Each time it happens there are problems with the fuse box,with the air conditioning unit. the water heater, and the light bulbs.At this time in my life I cant afford repairs that cause certain items to have shorter lives. My range is affected, and my washer and dryer. As well as my television sets, my refrigerator, and my garbage disposal. Id like to know why these interruptions in services occur and what is your company doing, if anything, to resolve your issues. Thank you.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Mildred L. Jones from Houston, TX on July 8th, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Very good for the first year
The plan is amazing for the first year. It is down hill from there on.

My rates doubled and they claim that the rates have gone up for the new year. When i check with my friends that sign up, i find out they have the same rates i had my first contract.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

M from Addison, TX on June 30th, 2020
We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with our company. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm if you would like to discuss this issue further.
— Reliant
Reliant- Not the best rates
While Reliant has been a good company to be with, I think resigning up with them has been unpleasant. They have good rates, but not the best. My bill price is the most important feature of my electric provider. They are not 5 star if they don't have the best rates. That is bottom line.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Rates Are Too High from Granbury, TX on March 20th, 2020
Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
When contract expires, you're rates will always go up!
Everything was okay until my contract expired. The rate went from 11.0 to 13.0. Too many other companies to choose from with much better rates.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Dave from Pollok, TX on January 28th, 2020
Thank you for your review. We would like to review your account with you and see if there is anything we can do. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant


Most Recent 1 Star Reviews

364 Customer Reviews Written Overall


Read All 1 Star Reviews

Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend
The most unprofessional utility company I have ever dealt with!!!!
So last month around the 21st I was told that my last bill would be that day. I paid it on the phone with a representative. I told her to stop payments on automatic payments for my account to which she replied that she did. Come to find A charge on my account today $37. I was told that was my last bill was my last bill. So naturally I am upset that I got charged yet again. I called and spoke to a representative named Sandra. Sandra basically told me that there was nothing I could do about it. I asked her to get me in touch with the manager. She continues to put me on hold for 20 minutes. I hang up I call back. I talked to a second representative named Martin who immediately got me to a manager named Evan. I told him about his representatives not knowing their jobs and telling customers in accurate information. He didnt seem too concerned. So I got upset. Therefore I asked him get me over to the survey that happens at the end of phone call. Instead he Hung up on me therefore ending the opportunity to take the survey. So here I am telling everybody that will listen, do not go with this company unless you plan on fighting with them every single month. Their prices are kind of high and also unfair. I kept my thermostat at the same temperature whether it was fall winter or early spring. And yet every month it changed drastically. Their company is a rip off and the most unreliable electric company I have ever dealt with. Just steer clear.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Linda from Mansfield, TX on April 7th, 2022
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Incompetence at best
Made payment that was cashed by these folks on Feb.22,2022. They have record of it. Had bank fax and email copies of front and back of check. April 5th I get a notice of disconnection to take place on April 11th if payment is not received. I have called at least a dozen times over the past 5 weeks spending total of at least 20 hours on hold and trying to explain to operators and Supervisor that have no idea what they are doing. Has anyone else had this problem? Next call will be to an attorney.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

No Answers To Be Found from Rockport, TX on April 6th, 2022
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Horrible Customer Service
I've been a Reliant Customer for 15 years and the last four months have been a nightmare. The Customer Service is Aweful and they don't respond to to your emails at secure@ Reliant.com so don't waste your time. They have allowed others to stop and start my service and I've been waiting on a refund check for over a month. Apparently Miguel is the top of the line with mangement and nothing he says is correct. Absolutely horrible experience.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Angela B from Baytown, TX on March 8th, 2022
Hi Angela. We regret that you had a negative experience when you reached out to us. We would be more than happy to assist you with the concerns about your account. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Thieves
Had reliant for a years looked at my bank statement and they double billed me this month then they tell me they will just credit me I am on a fixed income they act like it's their money this is what deregulation brought us power thives Do Not Use This Company
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Arthur Johnson from Encino, TX on February 11th, 2022
Hi Arthur. We regret that you had a negative experience when you reached out to us. We would be more than happy to assist you with the concerns about your account. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Very upset with Reliant
Back in Nov 2021 I was switched By CPL to Reliant, acording to them I will keep the same plan, Now in Dic I got a bill for 18.35 which I paid, I talked to a rep asking why it was so low and apparently there was a mistake made by them then I got a text that said that my invoice of 135.00 was due on Feb 9 and today I got another text that I must pay 401.00 by Feb 23. I called and their answer was that they have done adjustments when they switched me. But I told them why I needed to pay Two invoices on the same month ?? They tried to enter me on small payments for five months along with the invoices for every month but If if I accepted the deal I could not switch to another company , I am very angry at Reliant because their mistakes Now I am stuck with very high bills with a Company that I DID NOT CHOOSE!!!!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Patricia Sanchez from Laredo, TX on February 5th, 2022
Hi Patricia. We regret that you had a negative experience when you reached out to us. We would be more than happy to assist you with the concerns about your account. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or contact us via secure chat https://chat.reliant.com/system/templates/chat/Reliant/index.html?entryPointId=1017&templateName=Reliant&ver=v11&locale=en-US
— Reliant
Worst company ever
Dosent care about costumer just money
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Jesus from Houston, TX on October 6th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Complete gangsters
I pay my bill every month on the 15th. Never missed a payment. Never been a day late. My power has been shut off twice on the 14th!! besides the fact this should be illegal it seems a little suspect its always the day before I pay. I would understand If it was 30 days late but they deliberately schedule there billing cycle to take advantage of reconnection fees.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Matt W from Mckinney, TX on September 14th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
Worst energy provider!
Ive been with Reliant since June and at first the payment was okay like $80 but in July the overcharged me with $390 like how!? Its just two people living in this household and we are barely home?! I tried asking why it was that much but they never give you an answer they just want to consider more plans to stay with them. But seriously if anyone wants a better energy provider go with TXU, screw reliant!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Nicole from Houston, TX on September 2nd, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
THE worst!
I have been trying to get my "free" nest for MONTHS now and have been yanked around during every single phone call and still not received!
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

Leslie from Galveston, TX on August 25th, 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We would like the opportunity to learn more about your experience and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant
AVOID RELIANT
These jerks won't add my wife to our account. She would have to add a seperate account and they would charge me a huge penalty for closing my account.
Plans & Pricing
Order Experience
Customer Service
Account Management
Likely to recommend

James from Corpus Christi, TX on August 5th, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to rate your experience. We're sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations. We would like the opportunity to learn more and see if there's anything we can do to help. Please contact us at 866-222-7100 or via secure chat http://bit.ly/2DrlrXm
— Reliant


Recommended Suppliers:




Texas Electricity Ratings Resources: