Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
13.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Earn Big Bill Credits
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    15.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Popular Brand
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Best Overall Value
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    9.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    3 Year Plan
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    9.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Rhythm's most popular plan
  • Go Green without Sacrifice
  • 3 Years of Bill Security
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    17.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    24.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    21.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    24.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    17.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    17.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    23.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance

    The best review categories for First Choice Power are the order experience, with an average of 2.0 stars, and their billing & account management system, with an average of 1.7 stars.

    Recent Good Review from SAVE $

    NO MORE PREPAID
    I would like to thank Texas Electricity Ratings.com for helping me with getting a monthly electric bill with no deposit down.. They truly made switching from my prepaid. Electric company effortless, Thanks , Victor V.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    SAVE $ from Dallas, TX on August 1st, 2021
    Hello Victor. Thank you for this great review! It is awesome to know you have found the best plan for you. If there's anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime, it will be a pleasure to further assist you. Have a wonderful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — First Choice Power


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    24 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    NO MORE PREPAID
    I would like to thank Texas Electricity Ratings.com for helping me with getting a monthly electric bill with no deposit down.. They truly made switching from my prepaid. Electric company effortless, Thanks , Victor V.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    SAVE $ from Dallas, TX on August 1st, 2021
    Hello Victor. Thank you for this great review! It is awesome to know you have found the best plan for you. If there's anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime, it will be a pleasure to further assist you. Have a wonderful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — First Choice Power
    NO MORE PREPAID
    I would like to thank Texas Electricity Ratings.com for helping me with getting a monthly electric bill with no deposit down.. They truly made switching from my prepaid. Electric company effortless, Thanks , Victor V.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    SAVE $ from Dallas, TX on August 1st, 2021
    Hello Victor. Thank you for this great review! It is awesome to know you have found the best plan for you. If there's anything we can help you with, please do not hesitate to contact us anytime, it will be a pleasure to further assist you. Have a wonderful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — First Choice Power
    First Choice Power
    Well, I have only had the opportunity to pay only one month because I have just started working with them. But so far so good, I feel I have saved a lot more money with this company as with my previous provider,but we shall see, got a full month with using my AC all month .to be continued..
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Carolyn from Lancaster, TX on June 26th, 2021
    Welcome to First Choice Power, Carolyn. We are honored to have you as part of our family. Glad to know that you found the best plan. Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review. Have an amazing day! - Zoeh / Digital Care
    — First Choice Power
    My experience
    I was very easy to switch over online!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Stacie Strebeck from Caddo Mills, TX on December 2nd, 2018
    Thanks Stacie! We are glad to hear your experience online went well! - Allie
    — First Choice Power
    My experience
    Since I have switched to this company I am overwhelmingly pleased with the service and rates that I have. There were no hidden fees and the bills are really low in cost compared to the previous company that I had!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Alicia Williams from Freeport, TX on August 23rd, 2018
    Yay! We are so glad to hear you are happy with our company! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. -Allie
    — First Choice Power
    The Best
    I have been approached many many times by other vendors to change from first Choice Power. I have been with this company at least 40 years and I have not found any reason yet to change. Reliable, dependable service and customer service is always available. ( a human being)
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sweet Jennings from La Marque, TX on August 16th, 2018
    Words cannot express our happiness that you have stayed with us for so long and have been so willing to tell others about your experience at FCP! We truly appreciate your loyalty and are here to help with any questions or concerns that you may have in the future! Thanks again for such an amazing review! -Kate
    — First Choice Power
    The tech person
    He was very patient with us. The wifi went out it had to be reset . We're seniors so we aren't very tech up to date. He understood that and didn't try to rush us. I wish everyone could be like him. AWESOME!!!!!!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Look It Up from La Marque, TX on July 7th, 2018
    Thank you so much for the 5-star review! We truly appreciate you taking the time to tell others about your experience. Have a great week! - Kate
    — First Choice Power
    Best Electric Service In Texas
    First Choice is the best choice Ive made. There reasonable and affordable. They help you out when your in a crunch. I love FCP!!! Wouldnt change unless I didnt have the choice for First Choice.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Outlaw from Richardson, TX on June 28th, 2018
    We are so happy to hear that you're enjoying your service and took time to tell others about the service you've received! We appreciate and value your loyalty. Have a wonderful week! -Kate
    — First Choice Power
    Awesome
    Great service!!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ms. Carter from Seagoville, TX on June 12th, 2018
    Thank you for the wonderful 5-star review! We truly appreciate it! - Kate
    — First Choice Power
    Best prices
    Best prices around and set up was a breeze!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    TravisF from Troy, TX on June 12th, 2018
    We're so glad to hear that the enrollment process was such an easy step for you! If you have any questions about your account in the future, feel free to reach out to us! Have a wonderful week! - Kate
    — First Choice Power


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    10 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Great service
    Great electric company
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Debra from Houston, TX on August 14th, 2018
    Thanks Debra! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review :) - Allie
    — First Choice Power
    When problems arise, true value seen.
    I was dropped by Breeze energy leaving Texas market and I was switched to provider of last resort (POLR) that I didn't want in less than 12 hours after first notification. UNHAPPY! Decided on First Choice and chose at Power-To-Choose. First billing messed up by TNMP but First choice corrected it promptly. The real test of good customer support is when things go wrong. I was happy with First Choice response and ability to reach and talk to their customer support. Bill corrected, happy again.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Happy Again from Friendswood, TX on July 8th, 2018
    We're so happy to hear that despite the drop by Breeze Energy, that everything went smoothly for you! We completely understand that situations like that can be stressful, but we are thankful that we were able to get everything up and running with us very quickly. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experiences with us. Please let us know if you have any other questions in the future! We are always a call or email away. Have a wonderful week. Thanks! -Kate
    — First Choice Power
    So far they have billed me as expected. Nothing hidden.
    I selected a plan that best suits our needs. Now let's see if they have a similar plan for returning customers. Too many providers bait you and jack the rates up when you try to sign up again. Time will tell. Very
    pleased so far.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Don from Arlington, TX on July 6th, 2018
    We're so happy to hear that you've enjoyed our service thus far and left a 5-star review for us! When it comes to renewals, there are a few ways to see rates from inside your Online Account, to calling or even using our Live Chat feature online. We'd be happy to assist you any time if you have any questions we can help with. Have a wonderful week! -Kate
    — First Choice Power
    First Choice Power
    It would be nice to have daily usage reports like others provide.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Bob from Irving, TX on June 12th, 2018
    We completely understand! It's definitely something we can request and see if we can add it! We do have weekly usage updates that you should receive via email, or you could register at Smart Meter Texas to get your usage readings in real time 15-minute increments! Thanks - Kate
    — First Choice Power
    Mrs
    I like first choice I am on the pay as you go bbq plan the daily price is a little high but Im trying to become eligible for month to month
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Charlotte Mitchell from Lufkin, TX on August 20th, 2017
    Thank you for the review! We would be glad to see if we have any options for reducing the bill. Please feel free to email us your account details at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Thank you, -Cole
    — First Choice Power
    Great choice of energy
    I don't understand how this company is rated a "1.3." I had a misunderstanding regarding my bill but it was clarified and I was credited on my account. My bill is extremely reasonable at $31 month and much better than Austin energy I hear people complain about. Compared to AZ with outrageous fees I can truly say I'm extremely happy with
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    FCP User from Austin, TX on May 25th, 2017
    Thank you for your kind words and great rating! We are happy to hear we could assist in saving you some money with our competitive prices! If you should have any questions or concerns, please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Have a great week! - Ally
    — First Choice Power
    Wonderfull
    Great experience all around.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Shirley from Dallas on August 14th, 2014
    We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
    — First Choice Power
    Great provider for us!!
    We are a non-profit community provider in Odessa and First Choice was great. We are saving about 450-500 dollars per month. This helps with the budget. Wish we had this provider many months ago. We did start Aug 2011.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Margaret Burton from Odessa on March 22nd, 2012
    We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
    — First Choice Power
    Just my opinion
    I have been with First Choice for about 7 years , had money problems along the way and never had a problem getting an extension and if you know you are going to be late they wont charge any extra IF you call for extension before due date . I read a lot of reviews complaing about thier rate going up after the introductory rate period ran out..a lot of providers offer a ridiculous rate of around .04 as a way to get you to choose them..it only last a couple of months people so instead of taking that rate for 3 months get a 1 year rate and nobody is going to give you more than 3 months at .04 . First Choice worked with me when I was laid off and was slow paying my bills so I will stick with them as long as I get a good rate from them . I am currently paying .09 and I am happy with it . I always get friendly and helpful people when I call .
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Scott from Cleburne on January 26th, 2012
    We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
    — First Choice Power
    CEO
    Great experience. No tricks on billing or hidden
    charges.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dr. Malcolm Jones from Houston on July 27th, 2010
    We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
    — First Choice Power



    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    7 Customer Reviews Written Overall

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Surprising add on fee?
    Signed up through Power Wizard and so far so good except for my first bill showing up with a connection fee of $144? Wonder what this is all about?
    Never had seen this fee by my prior electric providers!!! A shocker to say the least especially since I always paid my bills by direct bank draft and on time.
    Love to see what they have to say???
    Just be aware that despite a good contract price these add ons will bump your bill up significantly!!!!!
    A daily and hourly usage chart would be nice since was provided by prior providers!!!!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Andre from Houston, TX on July 18th, 2021
    Hello Andre. Thank you for taking some time out of your busy day to leave us this review. We would love to take a look at your account and help you solve your concern regarding these charges, please feel free to contact us anytime, we'll be more than glad to work with you and answer all of your questions.

    You may obtain further details regarding your usage by registering your meter at www.smartmetertexas.com. Here your usage can be viewed every hour. You will be able to view when your usage is at its highest point and where it is at its lowest point throughout each day. We hope you find this information useful. Thank you for trusting us! Have a beautiful day! - Sophie / Digital Care
    — First Choice Power
    HARASSMENT
    I am ill, following cancer treatments and while I like the company and pay my bill regularly without fail. I feel I am being harassed and loosing sleep. Beginning Wednesday 8/26/2020 I have received the exact same TEXT over 23+ times. I appreciate them providing guidance on preparing for storms, however I don't understand why I have to receive that information that many times. Then to call in and get asked questions they don't even ask when you have real problems of unconcern just to get the text that ran all night at 3am, 4:25am, etc to Stop is rediculous. Then to continue getting them after calling in and their closed for the day, means I have to vibrate my phone to get rest, when I have elderly parents who could have an emergency is wrong. HELP me please.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Sick And Concerned from Houston, TX on August 27th, 2020
    Good afternoon. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are terribly sorry for the situation you have experienced and we would like to help in any way we can. Please do not hesitate to connect with our Facebook and Twitter team, or you can contact us by phone or through our Live Chat department, we will do our best to provide you a solution. Thank you for taking the time to share this review with us. We care for you and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Please take care and be safe! - Camila / Digital Care
    — First Choice Power
    Changed since sold To Direct Energy
    I have been with First choice power for 10 years. I have never had any problems with them until recently when I was having a guard light activated. I couldn't really get a straight answer on the cost. At that time the girl was more interested in getting me to renew my contract four months early at a higher rate. Customer service had no idea the cost to activate it. They had me call Oncor and Oncor sent me back to my provider. After being on hold for quite awhile I was finally sent to the commercial department and was giving the cost. An appointment was set up for January 17th for the light to be activated. They came out, cut a huge limb off my tree and left ruts in my yard from the truck. The light never came on. I got a call from them on the 18th stating there was a billing mix up and it would cost a little more. At that time I asked when it would be activated. I was told they should turn it on right away. Still not on. I called again in the 19th and was told 7 to 10 days for activation but I was still getting charged like it was turned on the 17th. I know it's not using electric because it is not activated, but I should not have to pay all the fees until the light is active and has electric running to it.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Colleen Trevino from Belton on January 20th, 2017
    Colleen, thank you for taking the the time leave your feedback. We would like to apologize for any misunderstanding and frustration. If you have any other concerns or questions we would be happy to speak to you. Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. All the best, -Melinda
    — First Choice Power
    I WOULD WANT PEOPLE TO GET!!
    I am thankful that this company has been good to me in the past month. I was paying well over $350 and my bill went down to $180. I couldnt be happier because i was able to be at ease and have money left over to start taking out my wife again. Things have been better because of first choice and i would honestly recommend to others. Plus i already helped two relatives about this and they have veen saving money. KEEP DOING WHAT YOURE DOING FIRST CHOICE. Thank you for all that you have done.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kyle from Standly on August 10th, 2016
    Kyle, thank you for taking time out to let us know how we are doing! We are pleased to hear you are enjoying your service. Please let us know if you have questions! You may email those questions to dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. Have a wonderful day! -Elle
    — First Choice Power
    First Choice Power
    I have been with First Choice Power for over two years and I have not had any major issues. I have been offered good promotions each time I renew my plan and I am satisfied. My electricity bill is still extremely high but I would not imagine it has anything to do with them, It's HOT!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Shante Sanders from Houston on August 28th, 2011
    We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
    — First Choice Power
    1st
    This has been my company for a couple years. When someone told me about another company, I started checking them out. I decided to give Green Mountain Energy a try. I ordered a six month plan that was a little cheaper to try to save a little money.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Charles R Brown from Gatesville on September 1st, 2010
    We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
    — First Choice Power
    Get you in and you want out
    Getting a plan and the service was not complex. After having their service for over 7 years. After IKE they changed after the hurricane!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Unknown from on August 19th, 2009
    We are sorry that we did not see your post until now. We appreciate feedback and are always willing to help with any issue that may need resolution. We can be contacted at DEdigitalcare@directenergy.com anytime! -Eden
    — First Choice Power



    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    16 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Faithful
    I have been a long time user of first choice power this year, my contract was up so I called to renew. Well the agent at the time did not work with me, to get the best possible rate, so here I am stuck with a high energy rate for 24 months. There is a $135 fee to terminate my contract. I would not recommend this utility co to anybody. I am a senior citizen and did not realize what I was getting. This company has always had reasonable rates until now. I cringe every month when my bill comes in. I just wish I understood what the agent was giving me and went with a different provider. Now I am stuck. This is a warning to others to shop around.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Armando from Texas City, TX on December 5th, 2019
    Good afternoon. We absolutely appreciate your loyalty to us after all this time and want the chance to work with you. If you do not feel comfortable with your current rate, we will see what other options are available. Please connect with our digital support team through Live Chat https://www.firstchoicepower.com/ or Social Media https://www.facebook.com/FirstChoicePower/ to continue forward with assistance. Thank you. - Megan / Digital Care
    — First Choice Power
    Difficult to deal with
    I accidentally disputed my final bill and the credit card company (Citicards) refunded it. I'm not sure if they checked because it shouldn't have been accepted. Afterward First Choice Power wouldn't accept credit card or checking account payments. What they didn't say was they would only accept cash or debit card which was discovered by process of elimination at a bill pay center.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Leroy from Mckinney, TX on June 27th, 2019
    Hi Leroy,

    We certainly would like to apologize for the frustration and inconvenience caused by this situation. If there is anything that we can do to help improve your experience, please feel free to reach out to us. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
    — First Choice Power
    Been with 1st Choice about 3 years
    I first came to this company when moved to this house and needed electricity without huge deposit. So we signed up for prepaid with 1st choice (it was somehow tied to Direct Energy). The process was long but all good. Absolutely loved the rate, got balances daily and the monthly average was just unbeatable. Customer service was excellent although sometimes hard due to language barrier on their part. After a year we were offered a 12 month plan with no deposit so we accepted. Everything went well for about a year, the monthly bill was extremely affordable. When it came time to renew, we were offered a good rate on a month to month plan and so we did that. This is where problems started to appear. My bills literally doubled and even tripled, especially in the summer. I went online to try to find a better rate/plan and ended up signing on to a 12 month plan. It as lowered somewhat but the bills are still much higher every month. I have had a couple of payment plans that they do not update in a timely manner and it has led to saying I broke the agreements even when there were times when I paid installments early and/or completely off. Customer service has gotten terrible and you can call and speak to someone, hang up call back and get someone else and the info you get is completely different. Frustrating! And they can be very borderline rude sometimes and make you feel like you are being unreasonable just by asking a question or are bothering them just by calling. My contract is up in October 2019 and I am starting now to look at other options and will be aggressively shopping for alternatives. I will renew this time only if I find no better option. I am a loyal customer and prefer to stay with a company but when things progressively slide downhill as this experience has, I'm smart enough to know it is time to consider alternatives. Dammit, 1st Choice!!! You were amazing for so long!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    R Hannah from Fort Worth, TX on May 22nd, 2019
    Hi,

    We appreciate your loyalty and trust to us over the years. We are working diligently to improve processes within our company to ensure that we have consistently great customer satisfaction.

    As a friendly reminder, we issue renewal notices with your invoice on page 3 60 days prior to the current contract expiry date. Renewal rates may be reviewed in your online portal or by speaking with an agent via phone or live chat.

    During each renewal period, there are multiple plans to review in your online portal that consists of different promotions. Please keep in mind, as with many companies, rates are subject to change each renewal period based on the market. Keep in mind, when reviewing the renewal rates, it is the energy charge displayed in the EFL below the rate plan that you are agreeing to not the advertised rate shown.

    Please don't hesitate to contact us by phone or live chat should you need our assistance. Thanks again and have a wonderful day!
    — First Choice Power
    Customer service representative Rude
    She didn't allow me to speak, interrupt me multiple times. Ruth didn't have no listening skills. She force me to be place on hold after I told her PUC need to get involved on the calls. Great plans
    Terrible customer service

    Agent name: Ruth 19406
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    from Dallas, TX on July 5th, 2018
    We're so sorry to hear about the experience you had with one of our Customer Service Phone representatives! We take pride in our customer service, and we are sad to hear that we may have missed the mark with your experience. If you have any questions in the future, you could always use email us at digitalcare_fcp@directenergy.com or try calling and speaking with a different agent. We hope to also have a Live Chat online feature available soon, so keep an eye out for that as well. Please feel free to reach out if you have any additional questions or concerns. Thanks - Kate
    — First Choice Power
    Once your promotional plan expires YOU WILL PAY
    I'm new to Dallas so I started a 3 month contract (promotional fixed bill amount rate) first before jumping head first for a 12 month - not knowing how things worked. That was my mistake as the 12 month version was available.
    After receiving a notice to renew, I expected to continue the same for 12 months but FCP offered me plans that doubled my bill.
    When I called customer service I was told my plan was no longer available.
    But then I called back acting as a new customer I was able to select the same promotional rate... at least until I told the (very helpful) sales person that I was already a customer.
    I was then redirected to customer service to be told again that my promotional plan was no longer available.
    So I have to now accept a higher bill CONTRACT. Don't renew and pay A EVEN HIGHER RATE for month to month. Or switch to another company.
    All was asking was to continue my current rate for 12 months.
    Very unsatisfied with the experience. I would have understood if after 12 months there was no longer a promo rate available to me. But 3 months? Really?
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dissatisfied Customer from Dallas, TX on April 13th, 2018
    We can imagine how frustrating this whole process must have been for you, and we apologize that you received less than exceptional service. We know that it has been a while since you left this review, but if you are still a customer of ours, it's definitely something we'd like to work to resolve! With renewals, we do get new pricing each month and we always take into consideration the current state of the Energy market. For most of our customers, if they sign up for a contract, the rate they enrolled on, is not available a year later due to the changes in the marketplace, however, the renewal options should still be competitive. If you ever have questions about your rate, or to see what rates we have available for existing customers, please email us at digitalcare_fcp@directenergy.com and we can investigate further for you. Thank you! -Kate
    — First Choice Power
    They will get you
    Went along fine for a year, but then on the coldest months they jacked the rate to 14.2 Cents/kwhr.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mello from Dallas, TX on January 28th, 2018
    Mello, sorry to hear your experience hasn't been a good one recently. We would like to fix that! Please email us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com with your account details so we can take a look at this right away. All the best, - Jane
    — First Choice Power
    Meter problem
    I have been on the phone for over an hour trying to put in a request.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Robin Paul from Brazoria, TX on August 8th, 2017
    Robin, we are sorry to hear this! If you still need assistance, please send your information to us at dedigitalcare@directenergy.com. We would be glad to help. -Cole
    — First Choice Power
    Switching companies immediately
    I have been with first choice a while now and have had a variety of little problems I overlook but tonight/early morning takes the cake. I am a Pay as you go customer and it's a Sunday I have had electricity all day I leave my house around 7pm and come back an hour later and my electricity is off I then get a text that say I need to make a payment so furious that it's 8 something at night when they decide to do this I go make a payment and I know usually it takes up to two hours I wait 4hours and still nothing by then it's midnight I try to call customer service of course it's closed late Sunday night then I report an outage it's currently 2:25 am and still nothing I have work at 6am and I'm 5 months pregnant and since it's so late have no whe