Electric Plans & Rates


Recommended Plans
All Plans
Plan Name
Company
Length
Price
Rate Stability
15 Month Fixed Rate
15 month
Fixed Rate
13.3¢ / kwh
at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great for small homes
  • Low Rates regardless of usage!
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    10.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy a low fixed rate and stay cool this summer!
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Big Time Bill Credit
  • No Monthly Base Charge
  • 12 months of bill stability
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low Average Bill
  • Donates to Charity
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Solar Energy
  • Reduce your Carbon footprint
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    9.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Earn Big Bill Credits
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    7.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Very low rate!
  • Good for medium homes
  • 12 months of bill security
  • 24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 month fixed rate plan
  • No base charge, no minimum usage fees
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    10.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    12.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $29 min balance
  • Prepaid - No Deposit EVER
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Best for medium size homes
  • NEW ENROLLMENTS ONLY!
  • Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    15.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Popular Brand
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    11.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Low rate!
  • Well known brand.
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    10.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    8.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Great Plan for Medium Homes
  • $95 Bill Credit at 1k usage
  • 1 year of bill security
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Best Overall Value
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Simple, straightforward pricing
  • Price Protection for 3 years
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    11.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Tiered Rate Plan
  • 12 Month Contract
  • 24 Month Bill Credit
    24 month
    Bill Credit
    9.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Bill Credit
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    9.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    3 Year Plan
    36 month
    Bill Credit
    9.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% renewable
  • Includes FREE Energy Savings Kit!
  • Super low green rate
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Rhythm's most popular plan
  • Go Green without Sacrifice
  • 3 Years of Bill Security
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 3 Year Price Protection
  • Stable, predictable rate
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Two Year Price Protection
  • All Around Great Value
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Tiered Rate
    24 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • No minimum usage charges
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Flat, Reliable Rate
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Bill Credits cut your bill in summer months
  • Enjoy smaller bills in summer
  • 12 Month Price Protection
  • 12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    12.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 24 Month Locked-in price
  • Steady Rate regardless of usage
  • Great overall plan
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • 100% Renewable Energy
  • Enjoy price security for 2 full years!
  • 24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    12.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Pricing Gimmicks
  • Great for any size home
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.6¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Super Low Summer Rate!
  • 100% Renewable Energy!
  • No Bill Surprises!
  • Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    17.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    Variable Rate
    1 month
    Variable Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Contract
  • Variable Rate
  • Low Credit
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    36 Month Flat Rate
    36 month
    Flat Rate
    24.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    12.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Minimum Usage Charge!
  • Good for Medium Homes
  • Bill Credits at 1k and 2k usage!
  • 12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    13.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Energy Charge on weekends!
  • No Delivery Charges on weekends!
  • Weekends start Friday @ 8:00 PM!
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • No Monthly Fee!
  • Low Average Bill
  • No Surprises
  • 36 Month Fixed Rate
    36 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Pre-paid
    1 month
    Pre-paid
    21.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Fixed Rate
    24 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    15.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    24 Month Flat Rate
    24 month
    Flat Rate
    24.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Tiered Rate
    12 month
    Tiered Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    16.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    17.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Solar Days: 5:00 a.m. through 7:59 p.m. each day
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    17.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.2¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Bill Credit
    12 month
    Bill Credit
    16.1¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    6 Month Fixed Rate
    6 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.0¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Beat the summer heat!
  • Steady, predictable rate
  • No Bill Surprises
  • 12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.5¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    14.7¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    15.3¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    12 Month Fixed Rate
    12 month
    Fixed Rate
    13.8¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
  • Popular Plan!
  • 12 months bill security
  • 12 Month Flat Rate
    12 month
    Flat Rate
    23.9¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    Fixed Pre-paid
    12 month
    Fixed Pre-paid
    16.4¢ / kwh
    at 1,000 kWh per bill
    $40 min balance

    The best review categories for Green Mountain Energy are the order experience, with an average of 1.8 stars, and their customer service, with an average of 1.8 stars.

    Green Mountain Energy logo

    Texas Electricity Ratings's Silver Tier providers are tremendous Texas Electricity companies. They all combine great customer service, lots of different plan offerings, and great communication from their companies to their customers and communities. If you select a plan from one of these providers you can be confident that you're selecting a great company with a good track record.

    Recent Good Review from DDavis

    No more Solar plans from a Green Company??
    We put 1.75 MHZ into the grid this month and pulled ~1,100 KW and we got a bill for 90$ - how does that math work? I called Green Mountain to check and see if it was just an error but was informed that the plan we were on no longer exists (they did not contact me) and they ONLY have a month-to-month plan available now AND that is it - meaning the price can/will vary as Green Mountain deems necessary. Adding to this, what happen to the ~600 KW+ our panels put on the grid?? I was told by Green Mountain that the energy amount added to the grid by our panels was less than we burned as reported by Oncor. Sorry - I was born at night, but not last night. I have moved to Rhythm Ops, LLC and recommend all Solar panels owners using Green Mountain consider the same or plan on the month-to-month reality.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    DDavis from Irving, TX on August 30th, 2021


    Most Recent 5 Star Reviews

    23 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 5 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Thank You Green Mountain
    During the winter storm here in Texas I was so nervous that my bill would go through the roof.
    I was one of the lucky ones who did not lose power. I'm a senior and was very very concerned that I would experience price gouging. I did not and I can't tell you how proud I am to be a Green Mountain Energy customer because if it. As we know, other electric companies did try to price gouge.....So sad and so wrong during a time of great devestation....
    My complete and sincere gratitude and compliments to Green Mountain Energy for their
    honesty and obvious care and concern for their valued customers...
    Thanks again and job well done
    Green Mountain.
    I will continue to recommend your services to family,friends and others...
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ms Sherry from Mckinney, TX on March 19th, 2021
    Very Happy with Green Mountain Energy
    I normally never, ever take the time to write reviews but after seeing so many bad ones, I felt compelled to share my experience with Green Mountain Energy. I have been a completely happy customer with them, and their customer service is beyond great. No hidden fees, prices are exactly what we agreed to. I highly recommend this company. Also, during the Texas freeze this year, we NEVER lost power save for the couple hours in the middle of the night due to mandatory rolling blackout.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Happy Customer from Spring, TX on March 13th, 2021
    Wonderful company
    I have had Green Mountain for years no complaints from me. Great service.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Robin Smith from Fort Worth, TX on October 31st, 2019
    Long-Time Customer
    I don't understand this rating, my experience with Green Mtn has been fantastic! I have used them for many year & have been very happy. I would highly recomend you give them a try because sometime review are just not correct. Thanks, Rickey Allen
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Rickey Allen from Fort Worth, TX on May 17th, 2018
    Good service
    Good service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Joseph from Austin, TX on May 3rd, 2018
    The best Texas energy provider. Period.
    I've been their customer for the best part of 4 years now.
    I have also created a spreadsheet to compare electricity plans and crunched the numbers on dozens of plans.
    When you do that, you get a feel for which companies are trying to price gouge and which ones are trying to provide good service affordably.

    Green Mountain Energy stands out kindof on its own:
    Cheapest plans out there, bar none. My bill in August was $36 for 474 kwh
    Fair fixed plans
    Easy to use website / billing / charts
    Weekly email updates on energy usage
    Friendly competent customer service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Dallas Customer from Dallas, TX on October 17th, 2017
    Short Experience
    I switched to Green Mountain to get a better price on electricity rates; unfortunately, my stay with them was short. My original provider called and gave me a deal for the next 12 months. I may still go back to Green Mountain next year. They have good rates and they use renewable energy which appeals to me.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Not Bucky Barnes from Alamo, TX on September 24th, 2017
    Ramzi Baransi
    Was very pleased
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ramzi Baransi from Plano, TX on June 21st, 2017
    Excellent Service and A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected
    Excellent Service and A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Excellent Service And A Lot Cheaper Than I Expected from Houston, TX on February 27th, 2017
    No Issues at all, very helpful!
    I've had Green Mountain for 14 months and I can honestly say, they were great, my bill was never above $20 a month and I ran electricity all day and night. I live in an 1100sqft house and my bill stayed low. There was only 1 outage during the 14 months from tropical storm Bill, and they had it resolved in around 4 hrs. Never had issues speaking with customer service or getting new product info. I like that they do not have automatic contract renewal. After contract expires it moves to month to month unless you renew your contract. After the contract my prices still stayed the same. Thanks for having me Green Mountain!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jordan from Galveston on July 4th, 2016


    Most Recent 4 Star Reviews

    37 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 4 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Love Green Mountain Energy
    I've been with them for over 5 yrs. no gimmicks. not the cheapest rate but best bargain overall when you have stability of fixed rate and no unexpected fine prints.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Truli from Richardson, TX on February 24th, 2021
    Min5
    Cost chart was an eye-opener as green mountain energy occupied spots 2,3,4 regarding electricity costs. My bill is about 30% cheaper - NOW, since switching to GME!!! I was motivated when TXU Energy was going to "change" electric rates GIVING ONLY ONE MONTHS Notice. Switching to GME Has proven to be a WISE Decision.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    RonCast from League City, TX on July 23rd, 2018
    Thank you for your great review! We are here if you need us.
    — Green Mountain Energy
    Green light for Green Mountain
    Ive never needed or contacted customer service. Billing is accurate, payment is automatic, if the price looks good to you then go for it!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Big D Bubba from Carrollton, TX on April 30th, 2018
    Higher price but you get what you pay for
    I never had any problems with this company, I had a 714 sq ft apartment, gaming systems, fridge, washer, dryer and what not - paid about $135 a month during the summer, around $90 during the winter - sign up was easy, customer service was polite etc.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    MarieG from Houston, TX on January 11th, 2018
    Poor customer service
    I've been with Green Mountain for about 5 years, I called customer service about an issue, talked to 3 different reps got told 3 different answers. No one could give me a straightforward answer, customer service support is bad, other than that everything is fine. Hope I will never have to call again.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    D J from Lancaster, TX on December 29th, 2017
    Pleased
    We have had Green Mountain Energy for 3 years and have had absolutely no problems. Our electric bill has been the lowest we have every had. I have no reason to want to change and have 3 years of why I would recommend them to others.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    MSQuinby from Richmond, TX on December 9th, 2017
    Solid choice for Renewable Energy
    Green Mountain doesn't have the cheapest plan by far, and not even the cheapest renewable plan, but they do have stability, consistency, and reliability. I've been a customer for several years now (coming up on my third contract renewal) and I'm very wary of switching away from GME even if it means potentially saving $1000 a year on power. Their website is easy to use and intuitive. Averaged billing great.

    The ONLY negative I ever experienced was when I was not paying attention and missed the contract renewal. Once you switch to "month by month" expect to be paying almost DOUBLE the rate. To be fair, they did send me ONE letter about this, and from what I'm reading many companies are much worse about not nudging the customer to renew a contract so the company can reap those sweet, sweet month-to-month rates. So stay on top of that contract renewal!
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    David C. from Humble, TX on November 22nd, 2017
    Great for smaller households
    Green mountain was one of the only/few companies offering lower rates for using less than 1000 kwh. Our last bill, when we weren't using heat or ac was $45.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Joan from Fort Worth on May 19th, 2016
    Honest clean electricity
    After two years of service I'm very happy with this company. They stick to only wind and solar energy and deep their rates very stable. Compared with other supply companies I've used I find the customer service easy to reach and very friendly. I've never had a problem with my bill or my power.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Brian Livingston from Houston on January 21st, 2016
    Great Energy Provider
    My personal experience with this energy provider has been in fact very good over the last several month since switched from Reliant Energy. The switch reduced our monthly energy bill to half, while giving us an impression of helping the environment and saving the world a bit.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Hunter Wang from Houston on April 14th, 2015


    Most Recent 3 Star Reviews

    22 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 3 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    No more Solar plans from a Green Company??
    We put 1.75 MHZ into the grid this month and pulled ~1,100 KW and we got a bill for 90$ - how does that math work? I called Green Mountain to check and see if it was just an error but was informed that the plan we were on no longer exists (they did not contact me) and they ONLY have a month-to-month plan available now AND that is it - meaning the price can/will vary as Green Mountain deems necessary. Adding to this, what happen to the ~600 KW+ our panels put on the grid?? I was told by Green Mountain that the energy amount added to the grid by our panels was less than we burned as reported by Oncor. Sorry - I was born at night, but not last night. I have moved to Rhythm Ops, LLC and recommend all Solar panels owners using Green Mountain consider the same or plan on the month-to-month reality.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    DDavis from Irving, TX on August 30th, 2021
    DISCONNECTED SERVICE, THEIR MISTAKE!!
    I called the morning of Jun. 1,2020 to ask the why my electricity is disconnected. I clearly called them on 2 occasions to cancel my disconnection notice since I had not yet moved into my house. They told me after I waited over an hour being transferred, that they will connect me in 1 or 2 hours top. It is not 5:15 p.m I have NO ELECTRICITY & they are not answering. I am so humiliated after paying them $218.00 balance that was suppose to be made in payments & they still haven't taken the time to connect my service. It is outrageous. I have been a loyal customer for over 5 or 6 years.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    COLD HEARTED COMPANY from Mcallen, TX on June 1st, 2020
    Happy til the end
    The price we received with our initial contract was outstanding. No issues during the life of the contract. However, a letter comes and tells us of a 40% increase in price. Therefore, we switched to another provider. And as a parting gift they hit us with a $200 contract cancellation fee.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    BGWatson from Fort Worth, TX on April 11th, 2018
    Billing Department is Horrendous and no means to contact corporate Hq to discuss
    We have been with Green Mountain under their solar panel program for a year. We get an incorrect bill and I call. Customer service says it will be 21 days to correct. I ask for a supervisor who checks, expedites and gets corrected in 5 days. That bill gets corrected but the next bill has a different problem. We've had more months will a billing problem than months without.

    The worst is that they provide no contact information for corporate. Corporate needs to review billing issues and revise procedures.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Kate from Arlington, TX on November 28th, 2017
    Ok
    I have Green Mountain Energy now. Everything was going well until I tried paying my bill online at my 4th month. Card Declined. Okay, I payed again called great mountain. Called bank to confirm my info was right. It was. And I charged my bank account three times. And I did the math it didn't add up. I paid on time so no charges should be extra. And I'm really disappointed...I sent green mountain my bill , and bank statements and I haven't heard back from them. I doubt they really care. I'm sure they will enjoy my extra money.. Going to be switching soon.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Disappointed from Houston, TX on March 1st, 2017
    Billing Debocal
    In December I transferred apartments and did not receive a bill. After not Receving a bill f or almost two months I went online and paid the bill. I also signed up for ebill. After signing up I clicked on the screen for my account information I discovered that they changed my service address and nit my mailing address. In April I was sitting in my room and the lights go out. I discovered that they were cut off due to non payment. This happened without receiving a paper bill, ebill or disconnect notice. Disconnection notices are required under the law. I did not contact Green Mountain and I should have. I just took care of the bill. Well about a month later I get a call while at work from my disabled father who resides with me that the lights are off again. I paid the bill. I did go online and sent an e-mail via there customer service. A couple of hours later I did receive a response. They said it did not show I was signed up for ebill and fixed it were I will receive ebills and paper bills. They also waived the fees associated with the disconnection. I will be contacting them to see if they are going to waive the one from April.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Terri Williams from Dallas on June 4th, 2014
    Prices floating up why?
    Well, a guy in the grocery was all over me, and I needed to find a lower price. His GM met that. He said to watch out the non-fixed price would drift up. He was right, but it seems they're also changing how they do it---it's certainly not an apparent function of actual usage. It's my 4th month, price up several cents/kWh; and I've got to get out!! Whoever paid the Legislators for deregulation is evil (the industry?) and so is the Legislature. Citizens no longer have "representation" OR redress of grievance. And look how the PUC allowed Smart Meters and won't have real hearings to reverse it?!?!! ARE THERE NO HONEST MEN LEFT IN GOV????
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jo from Harris County on January 23rd, 2014
    Prior customer for 5 years
    I recently changed energy providers, but I was mostly satisfied with GME during those years. It was great to see how they have expanded to more states and how much their website improved. I was always very appreciative that there was a "green" energy provider in Tx. I didn't mind paying a little more pkw. I enjoyed their convenient bill pay, no hidden fees, friendly customer service reps, and the overall experience. I finally switched because I was able to find a more competitive rate but sad to say they are not "green." If things don't work out with this provider I will probably return to GME. Thank you.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Eli from Dallas on January 21st, 2014
    Hi Eli! We're glad to hear that you had such a great experience with Green Mountain Energy. Give us a call or go online when your current contract is up and we'll help you find a renewable plan that works best for you. We're looking forward to having you back in the Green Mountain community real soon!
    — Green Mountain Energy
    IT"S NOT ABOUT PRICE!
    I've been with green mountain for two years and I just want to respond to the negative feedback here. When you're shopping for electricity you will always get what you pay for. Dirt cheap electricity always has fees that punish you for trying to conserve energy. Green Mountain isn't the cheapest, but their whole initiative and their intention as a business is the reason why i pay at fair market price. The iphone for example,is a product that has value beyond the price. It's not just you're average joe polluted coal/nuclear electricity. Its clean energy and it feels good to be a part of the growing demand for it, which will bring the price DOWN if enough of us started caring about the earth.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Jamal from Dallas on September 10th, 2013
    Jamal, thanks for your post. We appreciate you joining us on our mission to change the way power is made.
    — Green Mountain Energy
    They're alright
    Green Mountain has been my provider for the past five years. The only thing I don't really like is the amount you pay - at first it was fine, and now I'm looking to change. It's great if you're "green" and they provide information about how much emissions you've saved and how many trees to the equivalent you've "virtually" planted but I need less per watt hour. I'm going to move on. Good luck - they're not bad but I could do better.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lori from Burleson on August 18th, 2013
    Hi Lori, we would certainly regret losing you as a customer. Please call us at 866-785-4668 to learn about our alternative rate plan options.
    — Green Mountain Energy


    Most Recent 2 Star Reviews

    33 Customer Reviews Written Overall


    Read All 2 Star Reviews

    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend
    Too expensive
    Poor customer service last month electric bill was kinda nice $170.00 this month paid $321.00 over $150.00 jump in just one month glad I am going with txu !
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Mark from Odessa, TX on June 29th, 2021
    We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback.
    — Green Mountain Energy
    Cutting power without warning
    Been happy customer until yesterday when they cut power at my address without warning. I moved and they were very prompt to add my new address and switch on power. They were also very prompt to cut power at my old address without warning although house still on the market. When I called to move they asked when power had to be switched off. I could not provide an answer since house was put on the market for sale. They put a date and told me to call to change it if I was selling it. My online account showed both my accounts with end date in 2025, the end of my 5 year plan so was not worried. Well, they cut power without warning. And now they want me to switch to a month to month variable plan, much more expensive. Needless to say, I changed provider. I was on autopay so very low maintenance for them, by definition always paid on time. Unbelievable the lack of care for their customers. I highly recommend to look elsewhere (the only reason it is not one star across the board is because they were prompt to sign me on the first time)
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Serge from Houston, TX on June 24th, 2021
    We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1842 and additional information.
    — Green Mountain Energy
    Beware new scheme from the company (probably others)
    When my last contract ended, they did not send any notice of my rates going up. This time, they sent me a notice to renew by a date last month. So, I chose to renew with another company this month, but they are informing me of a $200 fine for renewing a few months early. I was a complacent customer for 20 years, but never again.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Marc S. from Dallas, TX on January 15th, 2021
    We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with us, and appreciate your feedback. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to learn more about your experience. Please send us an email at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1831 and additional information.
    — Green Mountain Energy
    Last bill
    Did not issue credit for solar on last bill and charged a disconnect fee. I disputed the last bill and still no word from billing department
    Lousy service
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Ross from Corpus Christi, TX on July 19th, 2020
    We sincerely apologize for the experience. Contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1829 and additional information so that we can make sure to address your concerns.
    — Green Mountain Energy
    Non-Flexibility w/Payments
    First higher rates than some, but I was ok with that due to the environmental considerations. What I'm not ok with is I am a single mom, single income and there is no flexibility with this company when it comes to payment arrangement, if there is some kind issue arises.. especially if you typically stay caught up. They, however, will cut service as soon as the next bill generates with zero warning or communication. Most electric companies that I've used forever in my 30 plus years will allow you to get it paid before your next one is due... not these guys at all.. no notice, nothing indicating that you will be disconnected at all if you are on paperless billing.. no mention in the weekly emails they send, no mention when I logged in to see what my due dates. AND furthermore customer services is of zero help, I had a perfect storm of personal financial crisis happen in the last two months and was left a bit short (large vet bill with an animal that was internally bleeding and several hundred $ car repair)... I can easily pay the bill before the next due date, but they say they have no wiggle room or ability to turn my service on. We all know that is not true.. there is always a way.. they have set a protocal that cleary indicates to their customers that they don't care at all. So right now my services is off, I have no family to call for assistance.. sad part is I can pay my bill and the current portion a week from tomorrow... and be all caught up.. so for now, good riddance... I will pay my next bill and will move on to another company.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Lisa from North Richland Hills, TX on March 4th, 2020
    Thank you for leaving a review, Lisa. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We'd like to help look into options. Please email us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1814 and additional information for more information.
    — Green Mountain Energy
    DONT USE GREEM MOUNTAIN
    They may offer competitive prices and plans at first but they always find ways to charge up your bill during your time as a customer. I lived in a one bedroom apt and it cost more using Green Energy to cool and power electronics there than it does in my 4 bedroom two story house. They also have poor customer service and do not process closure claims properly. I closed my account in may and I'm still being billed because they waited a month to close it. This is the SECOND time they have done this to me. 10/10 WOULD NOT RECCOMEND this company, go for TriEagle!! They are great.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Colleen from Houston, TX on June 25th, 2019
    Hi Colleen. We're sorry that you've had an unpleasant experience with us. Please contact us at Feedback@GreenMountain.com with your account #, REF #1802 and additional information if you would like to discuss this issue further.
    — Green Mountain Energy
    Easy to sign up, but difficult to get them to honor specials
    I signed up with Green Mountain under a deal when they promised a $100 gift card. I never received my gift card. I then moved to an apartment where utilitied were included, so I did not have to order electricity service, and had a past due balance with Green Mountain. My intent was to use the gift card to take care of my past due balance, but I still never got it. After that lease was up, I moved back to another apartment where I had to get electric service and I went back to Green Mountain. They still tried to charge me for the past due balance and still would not send me my gift card. Customer should not have to jump through hoops just to get what they are entitled to. For this reason I would not recommend Green Mountain.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend

    Marcus H from Irving, TX on April 28th, 2018
    Very Expensive
    I have used Green mountain energy services on recommendation from my Apartment leasing for about 2 years. i thought initially its a good plan with cheaper rates but it got a hell lot of expensive i last 1 year and i paid almost thrice the amount i used to pay. i have no regrets on the services but they became really expensive now with other cheaper electricity plans available in the market. SO i would recommend to do search on other plans available in your area.
    Plans & Pricing
    Order Experience
    Customer Service
    Account Management
    Likely to recommend